Windows Starts - but no desktop icons etc

  1. desain

    desain New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    20:14
    My System
    Loading...

    i am running a XP machine.

    My computer goes into Windows but no desktop icons appear. I can press CTRL + ALT + Delete and the mouse works

    Can somebody help me to load my desktop icons and therefore allow me to use the computer

    Within the taskbar I have tried File: New Task run and to find the explorer.exe file

    However, it doesnt load. When i try and browse the file, within C: WINDOWS, there is a file called explorer.scf

    I try to rename this to .exe but it still doesnt work

    What should i do?
  2. Ankur

    Ankur Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Posts:
    346
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    India
    Local time:
    20:14
    My System
    Loading...

    Hi desain !!!

    Looks like your shell has been tampered.Please click the prework link in my signature and post back the required logs so that we could get a better insight of your system.
  3. samuria

    samuria Network Specialist Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Posts:
    21,591
    Likes Received:
    1,604
    Location:
    Crewe Uk
    Local time:
    20:14
    My System
    Loading...

    You wont be able to do the prework if you cant run anything so lets try and get you up and running first.
    Open the taskmanger start a new task and type in the windows

    control nusrmgr.cpl
    that will give you the user manager create a new user with admin right

    Then try typing
    explorer.exe and see if it can find explorer the explorer.scf is a short cut not the file.

    If the above worked ok log off and lgin as the new user you setup as this may give you a new profile
  4. desain

    desain New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    20:14
    My System
    Loading...

    i added a new user with administrator rights.

    however, i still cannot find explorer.exe
  5. samuria

    samuria Network Specialist Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Posts:
    21,591
    Likes Received:
    1,604
    Location:
    Crewe Uk
    Local time:
    20:14
    My System
    Loading...

    What happens when you login as the new user do you get a menu etc?
  6. Ankur

    Ankur Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Posts:
    346
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    India
    Local time:
    20:14
    My System
    Loading...

    Explorer.exe is windows shell, it is just responsible for providing GUI ~desktop icons,taskbar etc.Other programs would function properly without it.However you will have to use task manager to run them.

    How did this happen? Are you using an outdated version of Kaspersky which had a bug of deleting legit explorer.exe , though this fp has been fixed now.

    You will have to perform a windows repair if you still can't find explorer after creating a new user account as Samurai suggested.
  7. desain

    desain New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    20:14
    My System
    Loading...

    I have added a new user (Administrator).

    When i log on as this user, the problem still applies. I get the desktop screen with no icons. I can press Ctrl, alt, delete to load task manager. However, I still cannot find explorer.exe.

    What is the solution?
  8. Capt.Jack Sparrow

    Capt.Jack Sparrow Well-Known Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Posts:
    2,536
    Likes Received:
    393
    Location:
    CLASSIFIED
    Local time:
    20:14
    My System
    Loading...

    See if you can open the command prompt. If so the run SFC /SCANNOW and it will prompt for the XP disk make sure you keep that ready before running. That might replace the Explorer.

    Hope this helps,
    Captain
  9. desain

    desain New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    20:14
    My System
    Loading...

    I tried that, but get the following message:

    Windows File Protection could not initiate a scan of protected system files.

    The specific error code is 0x000006ba [The RPC server is unavailable]
  10. Capt.Jack Sparrow

    Capt.Jack Sparrow Well-Known Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Posts:
    2,536
    Likes Received:
    393
    Location:
    CLASSIFIED
    Local time:
    20:14
    My System
    Loading...

  11. zigzag3143

    zigzag3143 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Posts:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Local time:
    15:14
    My System
    Loading...

    This thread has expired and is now Closed.

    If you have a similar issue, please open a new thread in the appropriate forum.
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
Windows XP Windows XP System restarts at random Jul 6, 2012
Windows XP Windows fails to boot and then restarts Apr 26, 2012
Windows XP Windows XP Starts Too Slow Mar 29, 2011
Windows XP screen pops up before windows starts Jul 30, 2006