Windows Folder too big.

  1. AuditoreLife

    AuditoreLife New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    15:15
    My System
    Loading...

    I'm sure this has been brought up before, I'm definitely sure I'm not the first person.

    I'm currently running windows 7 64-bit SP1.

    I've tried using Disk Cleanup, CCleaner, Even opening cmd, and using the dism /online and such command, to make my winsxs folder smaller.


    My windows folder is currently 18gb.

    I don't care if i delete parts of unimportant or core items in windows 7, I've already deleted their pre-installed games. Freed up only around 50mb.

    I run my windows 7 from an ssd, 120gb. I'm currently using 21gb. And my windows folder is using 18gb of that 21. As you can imagine that is over 50% alone. The ssd I have is very expensive, from intel, and I need all the space I can get, you might wonder which i have around 90gb free space and why I want to make even more space. It's simply because I'm going to use that eventually, and I constantly record things, such as call of duty, or other games with fraps. Which 40-50 seconds of recording, takes 5gb.

    You can imagine how 5 minutes of recordings will take 25gb.

    Basically I can only record roughly 10-15minutes. I have a HDD, but that's too slow to record to, and it makes the output file laggy, and a huge fps drop.

    But that's not important, I just want to make my windows folder smaller.

    Sorry for my huge paragraph.
  2. nameisuser

    nameisuser Well-Known Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Posts:
    4,631
    Likes Received:
    339
    Local time:
    00:45
    My System
    Loading...

    AuditoreLife,
    Welcome back to PCHelpForum.

    Congratulations on having purchased a quality SSD and one of sufficient size for most needs.

    Would you do me a favor? Download TreeSizeFree and then run as adminitrator. Use the Snipping tool to make a snapshot of the output and ATTACH the resulting .PNG file to your next post.

    JAM Software - Windows Freeware

    Oh yes,
    the Sniipping tool:
    WIN | type Snipping | ENTER
    WIN is the key with the microsoft flag on top.
  3. nameisuser

    nameisuser Well-Known Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Posts:
    4,631
    Likes Received:
    339
    Local time:
    00:45
    My System
    Loading...

    audioelife,
    If it helps, here is a snip of mine. The size will never change in any significant fashion.

    Windows folder.PNG
  4. AuditoreLife

    AuditoreLife New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    15:15
    My System
    Loading...

    Here is mine, it says 18gb. But it says i have used 25gb, which is incorrect, if i go to properties of the windows folder, that says 18gb. I don't know where treesize is getting the extra 4 gigs.

    Attached Files:

    • SSD.png
      SSD.png
      File size:
      13.6 KB
      Views:
      10
  5. nameisuser

    nameisuser Well-Known Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Posts:
    4,631
    Likes Received:
    339
    Local time:
    00:45
    My System
    Loading...

    As I read that,
    Windows is 18 GB.
    Program Files is not a sub-folder of Windows.
  6. AuditoreLife

    AuditoreLife New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    15:15
    My System
    Loading...

    I'm not sure what you mean when you say Program files is not a sub-folder of windows.
  7. abhi.ko

    abhi.ko Active Member Tech Member Gold Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Posts:
    335
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO, USA
    Local time:
    00:45
    My System
    Loading...

    I had had this same issue and I had a much smaller SSD (60 GB), then I found this guide and used it to relocate my Program Data and Users Folder to the HDD and that was it! No more issues! Since you have Windows already installed refer to post #22:

    How to Create User Accounts on another Partition or Disk During Windows 7 Installation

    After you do this all your recordings and everything else will move to the more spacious and lesser expensive storage - your HDD, while retaining the folder references! If you have a lot of data to move the implementation might take longer for the move!

    I highly recommend this for any one with an SSD boot drive!
  8. nameisuser

    nameisuser Well-Known Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Posts:
    4,631
    Likes Received:
    339
    Local time:
    00:45
    My System
    Loading...

    Personally, and yes, I've tried all different combinations, I find you are better off not moving a user profile, but rather relocating the profile folders.

    When we get to that stage, I'll explain how you relocate profile folders, which incidentally, is what I've done.

    I think we have a nomenclature problem.

    Windows is a folder with sub-folders. The Windows folder is where the Win 7 executables, dlls and more are stored.

    The ProgramFiles folder is where, by default, application programs are stored. One can override this, but I do not recommend such.

    The Program Data folder is one of the locations where a program will store its data.

    If you do not relocate your profile's folders, for example, Documents, Music, Videos, Pictures then they will also take up space.

    In my case, I do not need to relocate since I do not have that many videos, that much music,etc. I have relocated them but that is only a temporary situation. For some testing, I need to move the profile folders over to another partition on my SSD.

    The simpler life is one big partition with everything on it.

    Before we go jumping to conclusions,
    would you please post a copy of the disk management display and here is how:
    HOW TO MAKE A SNAPSHOT OF DISK MANAGEMENT DISPLAY
    Run disk management:
    WIN | type DISKMGMT.MSC | ENTER
    WIN is the key with the wavy flag.

    Maximize the output of Disk Management:
    ALT-Spacebar key combo (this pops up a menu) followed by X key (selects Maximize) |
    Drag the field separators (such as between Status and Capacity) to show entire field. This is very important, otherwise, needed info is not visible.

    Make a snapshot:
    WIN | type SNIPPING | ENTER | New
    Drag the cursor around the area you want to snip.
    File | Save as | select save location and name | Save

    Post the snapshot:
    ·[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]Click on the Paperclip in that row of icons at the top of the message box.
    ·[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]BROWSE button.
    ·[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]Navigate to the folder containing the snapshot.
    ·[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]Click on the snapshot.
    ·[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]OPEN
    ·[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]UPLOAD button.
    ·[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]Close the MANAGE ATTACHMENTS window.
    ·[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]Position the cursor at the spot in the message where you want the
    snapshot to appear.
    ·[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]Click on the PaperClip .
    ·[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]Click on the file which you want to insert
    ·[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]Attach code will be inserted into your message.

    =========================================

    On another matter, which we are very fast approaching the point to where this info is a necessity:
    Please post your System Specs and here is how:
    HOW TO FILL IN YOUR PCHELPFORUM SYSTEM SPECS

    use Speccy or SIW (links in my sig) to gather FULL and COMPLETE info.

    • 1..Click on User CP (top left of PC Help Forum window) |
    • 2.Settings and Options (in column on left), Edit Options |
    • 3.Thread Display Optionssection | System Specs option, Yes |
    • 4..fill in as much info as possible
      PLEASE PLEASE tell us if this is a LAPTOP, NETBOOK, DESKTOP, OR TABLET
      Be sure to tell us the manufacturer of your computer
      Be sure to tell us the model of your computer.|
      5.Scroll to bottom, SAVE CHANGES button
    Your system specs travel with each of your posts.
    The person desiring to help you does not have to search your posts for your specs.


    Do NOT ever post your Windows Product ID/Serial Number which is available under:
    Speccy | Operating System | Serial Number and under
    SIW | Software | Licenses | Windows Product Key

    Do NOT ever post your Windows Product ID/Serial Number.

    ===========================================
  9. AuditoreLife

    AuditoreLife New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    15:15
    My System
    Loading...

    @abhi.ko Thanks for your idea, but I don't want to move my profiles, i have cleaned all of that already.

    @nameisuser, That huge paragraph is hard to understand, can you just tell me what you want me to do?
  10. nameisuser

    nameisuser Well-Known Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Posts:
    4,631
    Likes Received:
    339
    Local time:
    00:45
    My System
    Loading...

    First do this:
    HOW TO FILL IN YOUR PCHELPFORUM SYSTEM SPECS

    use Speccy or SIW (links in my sig) to gather FULL and COMPLETE info.

    • 1..Click on User CP (top left of PC Help Forum window) |
    • 2.Settings and Options (in column on left), Edit Options |
    • 3.Thread Display Optionssection | System Specs option, Yes |
    • 4..fill in as much info as possible
      PLEASE PLEASE tell us if this is a LAPTOP, NETBOOK, DESKTOP, OR TABLET
      Be sure to tell us the manufacturer of your computer
      Be sure to tell us the model of your computer.|
      5.Scroll to bottom, SAVE CHANGES button
    Your system specs travel with each of your posts.
    The person desiring to help you does not have to search your posts for your specs.


    Do NOT ever post your Windows Product ID/Serial Number which is available under:
    Speccy | Operating System | Serial Number and under
    SIW | Software | Licenses | Windows Product Key

    Do NOT ever post your Windows Product ID/Serial Number.

    =========================================
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
Windows 7 and Vista deleting windows.old folder Apr 12, 2014
Windows 7 and Vista Windows folders, menus, windows have black background Mar 29, 2014
Windows 7 and Vista Found copy of windows folder Jan 17, 2014
Windows 7 and Vista windows folder 56.3 GB?????!!! Jul 29, 2013