Windows 7 Slow, programs freezing

  1. Nick K

    Nick K New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    16:08
    My System
    Loading...

    Just recently my computer slowed down to a crawl, and all programs started freezing shortly after being opened. Now it hardly manages to log in. The weird part is that everything works in Safe Mode. I haven't downloaded or installed any new programs, and a full McAfee scan didn't come up with anything. Any insight would be hugely appreciated.

    Here's the MS Diagnostic tool readout:

    Diagnostic Report (1.9.0027.0):
    -----------------------------------------
    Windows Validation Data-->

    Validation Code: 0
    Cached Online Validation Code: N/A, hr = 0x8007043c
    Windows Product Key: Edited:Vger
    Windows Product Key Hash: T5lb3bPq7gbIX4ybiht6afXxLbI=
    Windows Product ID: 00371-839-0472816-85197
    Windows Product ID Type: 5
    Windows License Type: Retail
    Windows OS version: 6.1.7600.2.00010100.0.0.048
    ID: {74BF3B5C-DEA0-4C97-A773-34FD6D97F11E}(3)
    Is Admin: Yes
    TestCab: 0x0
    LegitcheckControl ActiveX: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Product Name: Windows 7 Professional
    Architecture: 0x00000009
    Build lab: 7600.win7_gdr.111118-2330
    TTS Error:
    Validation Diagnostic:
    Resolution Status: N/A

    Vista WgaER Data-->
    ThreatID(s): N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Version: N/A, hr = 0x80070002

    Windows XP Notifications Data-->
    Cached Result: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    File Exists: No
    Version: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    WgaTray.exe Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    WgaLogon.dll Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002

    OGA Notifications Data-->
    Cached Result: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Version: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    OGAExec.exe Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    OGAAddin.dll Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002

    OGA Data-->
    Office Status: 100 Genuine
    Microsoft Office Standard Edition 2003 - 100 Genuine
    Microsoft Office Visio Professional 2007 - 100 Genuine
    OGA Version: N/A, 0x80070002
    Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Office Diagnostics: 025D1FF3-364-80041010_025D1FF3-229-80041010_025D1FF3-230-1_025D1FF3-517-80040154_025D1FF3-237-80040154_025D1FF3-238-2_025D1FF3-244-80070002_025D1FF3-258-3

    Browser Data-->
    Proxy settings: N/A
    User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Win32)
    Default Browser: C:\Users\Nick\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe
    Download signed ActiveX controls: Prompt
    Download unsigned ActiveX controls: Disabled
    Run ActiveX controls and plug-ins: Allowed
    Initialize and script ActiveX controls not marked as safe: Disabled
    Allow scripting of Internet Explorer Webbrowser control: Disabled
    Active scripting: Allowed
    Script ActiveX controls marked as safe for scripting: Allowed

    File Scan Data-->

    Other data-->
    Office Details: <GenuineResults><MachineData><UGUID>{74BF3B5C-DEA0-4C97-A773-34FD6D97F11E}</UGUID><Version>1.9.0027.0</Version><OS>6.1.7600.2.00010100.0.0.048</OS><Architecture>x64</Architecture><PKey>*****-*****-*****-*****-Y9FKW</PKey><PID>00371-839-0472816-85197</PID><PIDType>5</PIDType><SID>S-1-5-21-3723170213-3801843811-3110717958</SID><SYSTEM><Manufacturer>Dell Inc.</Manufacturer><Model>Inspiron 1525 </Model></SYSTEM><BIOS><Manufacturer>Dell Inc.</Manufacturer><Version>A16</Version><SMBIOSVersion major="2" minor="4"/><Date>20081016000000.000000+000</Date></BIOS><HWID>10B83607018400FA</HWID><UserLCID>0409</UserLCID><SystemLCID>0409</SystemLCID><TimeZone>Eastern Standard Time(GMT-05:00)</TimeZone><iJoin>0</iJoin><SBID><stat>3</stat><msppid></msppid><name></name><model></model></SBID><OEM><OEMID>DELL </OEMID><OEMTableID>M08 </OEMTableID></OEM><GANotification/></MachineData><Software><Office><Result>100</Result><Products><Product GUID="{91120409-6000-11D3-8CFE-0150048383C9}"><LegitResult>100</LegitResult><Name>Microsoft Office Standard Edition 2003</Name><Ver>11</Ver><Val>51DBAF13E98866</Val><Hash>OiePtVMQf0A5+1/UUUohDKXLYwU=</Hash><Pid>70141-051-1555741-56759</Pid><PidType>1</PidType></Product><Product GUID="{90120000-0051-0000-0000-0000000FF1CE}"><LegitResult>100</LegitResult><Name>Microsoft Office Visio Professional 2007</Name><Ver>12</Ver><Val>4142EFD0443F712</Val><Hash>yhVjXYAHlvlZXq6/2syxHPmQS9w=</Hash><Pid>89405-905-3908787-63444</Pid><PidType>1</PidType></Product></Products><Applications><App Id="16" Version="11" Result="100"/><App Id="18" Version="11" Result="100"/><App Id="1A" Version="11" Result="100"/><App Id="1B" Version="11" Result="100"/><App Id="53" Version="12" Result="100"/></Applications></Office></Software></GenuineResults>

    Spsys.log Content: 0x80070002

    Licensing Data-->
    On a computer running Microsoft Windows non-core edition, run 'slui.exe 0x2a 0x8007043C' to display the error text.
    Error: 0x8007043C

    Windows Activation Technologies-->
    HrOffline: 0x00000000
    HrOnline: 0x00000000
    HealthStatus: 0x0000000000000000
    Event Time Stamp: 3:1:2012 16:03
    ActiveX: Registered, Version: 7.1.7600.16395
    Admin Service: Not Registered - 0x8007043c
    HealthStatus Bitmask Output:


    HWID Data-->
    HWID Hash Current: PAAAAAIABwABAAIAAQAAAAAAAgABAAEAeqg+anoQ7TVsPLbACiUGDGzMRoPAsuRwBqSU+43vRqoUqyqF

    OEM Activation 1.0 Data-->
    N/A

    OEM Activation 2.0 Data-->
    BIOS valid for OA 2.0: yes
    Windows marker version: 0x0
    OEMID and OEMTableID Consistent: yes
    BIOS Information:
    ACPI Table NameOEMID ValueOEMTableID Value
    APICDELL M08
    FACPDELL M08
    HPETDELL M08
    BOOTDELL M08
    MCFGDELL M08
    SLICDELL M08
    OSFRDELL M08
    SSDTPmRefCpuPm
  2. vger

    vger Posts: 74000 back in the VB days.... Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    19,094
    Likes Received:
    1,808
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Local time:
    16:08
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello Nick K and welcome to the PCHF..

    Please go to this link and run Microsoft's fixit software,if the solutions are not up from where i have done it.Just go to the box pull up Fix performance,errors and crashes again.. Run the recommended suggestions in the box below..



    http://support.microsoft.com/fixit/
  3. alishathomaz

    alishathomaz Member Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Posts:
    126
    Likes Received:
    3
    Local time:
    21:08
    My System
    Loading...

    Follow these steps to fix computer freezes problem::


    Remove unused programs
    Install and run antispyware software
    Free up wasted space with Disk Cleanup tool
    Defragment your hard disk drive
    Disconnect unused network connections:

    Click Start, and then click My Computer.

    On the Tools menu, click Disconnect Network Drive.

    Select the network drives that you no longer need, and then click OK.

    ALSO

    Click Start - Run, type in %temp% and then click OK.

    Once that temp folder is open and you can view its contents, select and delete EVERYTHING that's inside it.

    It's all junk and is a good place for "nasties" to hide.

    If a few files resist being deleted, that's normal. Leave them alone and delete EVERYTHING else.

    Repeat the steps with c:\windows\temp

    After you're done with both temp folders, restart the computer.
  4. Nick K

    Nick K New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    16:08
    My System
    Loading...

    Hey thanks I'm running through these suggestions right now. I guess I was kind of vague in my first post; I should also have mentioned that my system restore points are completely gone, they vanished about the same time everything slowed to a halt. I also had one instance where upon turning on the computer I had a "Windows not Genuine" message. This went away after a restart.
  5. vger

    vger Posts: 74000 back in the VB days.... Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    19,094
    Likes Received:
    1,808
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Local time:
    16:08
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello Nick K...

    Lets check if it is an infection..

    Please go to my red prework link click it,once there just follow the instructions..Please post those logs/files that are requested back here..
  6. Nick K

    Nick K New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    16:08
    My System
    Loading...

    Hey, thanks! I did what I could, but I can't get through an aswMBR scan without causing a bluescreen crash.

    EDIT: The scan crashes when looking looking through a folder called "sysglab" The file afterwards is a string of letters and numbers; I don't have the time to write it down before it crashes.

    Attached Files:

  7. Nick K

    Nick K New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    16:08
    My System
    Loading...

    I've investigated a little further and found that the scan crashes when checking either

    C:\windows\assembly\GAC_MSIL\sysglobl\2.0.0.0_b03f5f7f11d50a3a\sysglo..... the rest runs off the screen

    --OR-- it will make it one more file and crash on

    C:\windows\assembly\GAC_MSIL\System.AddIn\3.5.0.0_b77a5c561934e089\sys.... the rest is outside the window again
  8. Pancake

    Pancake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    3,921
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Local time:
    06:08
    My System
    Loading...

    Please download Malwarebytes Anti-Malware from Malwarebytes.org
    Alternate link: Download Mirror

    (Note: if you already have the program installed, just follow the directions. No need to re-download or re-install!)

    Double Click mbam-setup.exe to install the application.

    (Note: if you already have the program installed, open Malwarebytes from the Start Menu or Desktop shortcut, click the Update tab, and click Check for Updates, before doing the scan as instructed below!)
    Make sure a checkmark is placed next to Update Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware and Launch Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, then click Finish.
    If an update is found, it will download and install the latest version.
    Once the program has loaded, select "Perform Full Scan", then click Scan.
    The scan may take some time to finish,so please be patient.
    When the scan is complete, click OK, then Show Results to view the results.
    Make sure that everything is checked, and click Remove Selected.
    When disinfection is completed, a log will open in Notepad and you may be prompted to Restart. If you are prompted to restart, please allow it to restart your computer. Failure to do this, will cause the infection to still be active on the computer.
    Please save the log to a location you will remember.
    The log is automatically saved by MBAM and can be viewed by clicking the Logs tab in MBAM.
    The log can also be found at C:\Documents and Settings\Username\Application Data\Malwarebytes\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\Logs\log-date.txt or at C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\Logs\log-date.txt
    Copy and paste the entire report in your next reply.
    If Malwarebytes fails to download please use the following link:

    http://malwarebytes.org/mbam-download-exe-random.php

    =============================================

    Download Combofix from any of the links below, and save it to your desktop.
    Link 1
    Link 2
    Link 3
    When saving ComboFix rename it to PCHelpForum.exe to prevent it from being blocked by malware.

    Refer to this image:
    To prevent your anti-virus application interfering with ComboFix we need to disable it. See here for a tutorial regarding how to do so if you are unsure.
    • Close any open windows and double click PCHelpForum.exe to run it.
      You will see the following image:
    [​IMG]

    Click I Agree to start the program.
    ComboFix will then extract the necessary files and you will see this:

    [​IMG]

    As part of it's process, ComboFix will check to see if the Microsoft Windows Recovery Console is installed. With malware infections being as they are today, it's strongly recommended to have this pre-installed on your machine before doing any malware removal. This will not occur in Windows Vista and 7
    It will allow you to boot up into a special recovery/repair mode that will allow us to more easily help you should your computer have a problem after an attempted removal of malware.
    If you did not have it installed, you will see the prompt below. Choose YES.

    [​IMG]

    Follow the prompts to allow ComboFix to download and install the Microsoft Windows Recovery Console, and when prompted, agree to the End-User License Agreement to install the Microsoft Windows Recovery Console.
    **Please note: If the Microsoft Windows Recovery Console is already installed, ComboFix will continue it's malware removal procedures.
    Once the Microsoft Windows Recovery Console is installed using ComboFix, you should see the following message:

    [​IMG]

    Click on Yes, to continue scanning for malware.
    When finished, it will produce a report for you. Please post the contents of the log (C:\ComboFix.txt).
    Leave your computer alone while ComboFix is running. ComboFix will restart your computer if malware is found; allow it to do so.
    Note: Please Do NOT mouseclick combofix's window while its running because it may cause it to stall.
  9. Nick K

    Nick K New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    16:08
    My System
    Loading...

    Thanks! I'm still getting "windows not genuine" and its slow and freezing when in regular start up. Here's what they came up with:

    Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (Trial) 1.60.1.1000
    www.malwarebytes.org

    Database version: v2012.04.06.09

    Windows 7 x64 NTFS (Safe Mode/Networking)
    Internet Explorer 9.0.8112.16421
    Nick :: NICK-PC [administrator]

    Protection: Disabled

    4/6/2012 11:25:07 PM
    mbam-log-2012-04-06 (23-25-07).txt

    Scan type: Full scan
    Scan options enabled: Memory | Startup | Registry | File System | Heuristics/Extra | Heuristics/Shuriken | PUP | PUM
    Scan options disabled: P2P
    Objects scanned: 610746
    Time elapsed: 2 hour(s), 44 minute(s), 34 second(s)

    Memory Processes Detected: 0
    (No malicious items detected)

    Memory Modules Detected: 0
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Keys Detected: 0
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Values Detected: 0
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Data Items Detected: 1
    HKCR\regfile\shell\open\command| (Broken.OpenCommand) -> Bad: ("regedit.exe" "%1") Good: (regedit.exe "%1") -> Quarantined and repaired successfully.

    Folders Detected: 0
    (No malicious items detected)

    Files Detected: 4
    C:\Users\Nick\Documents\My Documents.url (Trojan.Zlob) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.
    C:\Users\Nick\Documents\My Music\My Music.url (Trojan.Zlob) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.
    C:\Users\Nick\Documents\My Pictures\My Pictures.url (Trojan.Zlob) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.
    C:\Users\Nick\Documents\My Videos\My Video.url (Trojan.Zlob) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.

    (end)

    Attached Files:

  10. Pancake

    Pancake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    3,921
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Local time:
    06:08
    My System
    Loading...

    It is possible that Windows 7's Licensing Store may be corrupt or unreadable. Try the below steps to recreate the Store.

    1) Open an Internet Browser
    2) Type: %windir%\system32 into the browser address bar.
    3) Find the file CMD.exe
    4) Right-Click on CMD.exe and select 'Run as Administrator'
    5) Type: net stop sppsvc (It may ask you if you are sure, select yes)
    Note: the Software Protection service may not be running, this is ok.
    6) Type: cd %windir%\ServiceProfiles\NetworkService\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\SoftwareProtectionPlatform
    7) Type: rename tokens.dat tokens.bar
    8) Type: cd %windir%\system32
    9) Type: net start sppsvc
    10) Type: slui.exe
    11) After a couple of seconds Windows Activation dialog will appear. You may be asked to re-activate and/or re-enter your product key or Activation mayoccur automatically.
    If you have a product key, then you can reactivate Windows 7.
    1. Click the Start button2. Type: slui.exe 3 and hit the Enter key3. Type in the Product key from the sticker on your computer4. Click the Next button.5. You will be asked if want to Activate, click ok
    You can also activate by phone by following these steps:
    1. Click the Start button2. Type: slui.exe 4 and hit the Enter key3. Select your location in the drop down menu and click the Next button4. The next screen provides the number to call to Activate by Phone
    How to contact a Microsoft Product Activation Center:
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx/kb/950929/en=us
  11. Nick K

    Nick K New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    16:08
    My System
    Loading...

    I'll give this a shot. To be clear though, it only says "Windows not genuine" when booting up regularly. In safe mode everything runs pretty well except a tab might occasionally hang in Chrome.
  12. Nick K

    Nick K New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    16:08
    My System
    Loading...

    Turns out I can't boot normally anymore, it just hangs on a black screen with "Windows not Genuine" in the bottom corner, and I can't re-verify when in safe mode. Is there any other way?
  13. Pancake

    Pancake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    3,921
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Local time:
    06:08
    My System
    Loading...

    Try the following:
    1. Open a Command Prompt window by clicking on Start -> Run. Type CMD and press OK.
    2. Change Directory into the System32 Folder type cd \windows\system32
    3. Open a Notepad window and type the following lines:
      • taskkill -IM wgatray.exe
      • del wgatray.exe
      • del wgalogon.old
    4. Highlight and copy the three lines above to the Clipboard.
    5. Paste the contents of the Clipboard to Command Prompt .
  14. Nick K

    Nick K New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    16:08
    My System
    Loading...

    What's supposed to happen? It says the process was not found, and a couple lines down it says it couldn't find wgatray.exe.
  15. Pancake

    Pancake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    3,921
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Local time:
    06:08
    My System
    Loading...

    Its suposed to stop that Windows not Genuine message. Did you reactivate with Microsoft as per post #10 ?
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
Windows 7 and Vista Slow windows and games suddenly (not FPS) Jun 1, 2014
Windows 7 and Vista Windows 7 very slow starting Apr 23, 2014
Windows 7 and Vista Sound Menus Very Slow to Open Windows 7 Sep 10, 2013
Windows 7 and Vista Windows extremely slow, can't open any programs. Sep 2, 2013