Windows 7 installation error

Solved
  1. Ruaridh

    Ruaridh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    00:53
    My System
    Loading...

    2500k
    8gb g.skill ripjaws
    ASUS P8 Z68-V LX
    zotac 580 gtx
    OCZ Agility 3 60gb ssd
    250gb wd hdd


    Good morning, I am pulling my hair out over my new build.

    I insert the Windows 7 Pro installation disk (downloaded ISO, burnt at 2x speed) and it gets to about 30%, freezes and then displays the following error:

    0x80070002

    I have tried a number of methods to fix this including:

    - Different ram combinations
    - Unplugging all peripherals
    - Unplugging HDD (leaving only ssd drive connected)


    Would be grateful for any help, thanks in advance!
  2. AMK

    AMK Rooted Android User Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Posts:
    819
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Dar es salaam, Tanzania
    Local time:
    02:53
    My System
    Loading...

    When you say that, the first feeling i get is that you downloaded the ISO image from somewhere. I hope its not illegeal... as in like torrents, warez etc...

    Have you ever thought of it this way:
    Maybe the ISO image is corrupt ...
  3. Ruaridh

    Ruaridh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    00:53
    My System
    Loading...

    Thanks for your reply!

    No, the ISO is legit - downloaded from Microsoft website (after purchasing Win7 Pro) - I initially downloaded the upgrade client into windows xp, but it appeared to be corrupt (and error message stating certain files were missing...).

    I read somewhere that perhaps my SSD is corrupt from a previous install? I tried creating 2 partitions and installing windows to the second partition - same error pops up.


    I should note - The error message pops up at 29% nearly every time - and it is right after my dvd drive stops activity.
  4. AMK

    AMK Rooted Android User Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Posts:
    819
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Dar es salaam, Tanzania
    Local time:
    02:53
    My System
    Loading...

  5. AMK

    AMK Rooted Android User Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Posts:
    819
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Dar es salaam, Tanzania
    Local time:
    02:53
    My System
    Loading...

  6. Ruaridh

    Ruaridh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    00:53
    My System
    Loading...

    Ok so I managed to fix the problem at last!

    What I did was:

    Installed Windows onto an old hard drive I had - This proved that the DC I had burned was not at fault.
    Once inside Windows, I used EASUS partition manager to wipe and format the SSD.

    I then rebooted and successfully installed windows on the SSD.

    So it appeared to be a problem with the SSD - possibly the remnants of a faulty install from before.

    Thanks for your suggestions though guys!
  7. DCiAdmin

    DCiAdmin Here to Help!

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    16,759
    Likes Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    Heart of the US Midwest
    Local time:
    18:53
    My System
    Loading...

    Well done, Ruaridh :)

    Marked as SOLVED