Why do I need a password for http://192.168.20.1?

  1. downloadlimit

    downloadlimit Member PCHF $Donator Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Posts:
    180
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local time:
    09:56
    My System
    Loading...

    I have just bought a Netcomm 150N router and I want to get into the settings to turn the wireless off-and also just to be able to get into the settings-but the message A username and password are being requested by http://192.168.20.1. The site says: "Default: admin/admin" comes up.

    How will I know what this password and username are?

    Thanks
  2. Antman

    Antman Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Posts:
    2,122
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Lansdowne, Virginia
    Local time:
    17:56
    My System
    Loading...

    username= admin
    password= admin
    downloadlimit likes this.
  3. downloadlimit

    downloadlimit Member PCHF $Donator Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Posts:
    180
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local time:
    09:56
    My System
    Loading...

    I don't know why they bother have a username and password if that is all it is-but it worked; thanks.
  4. Antman

    Antman Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Posts:
    2,122
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Lansdowne, Virginia
    Local time:
    17:56
    My System
    Loading...

    You can change it once you log in.
  5. Kalyan S

    Kalyan S Member Gold Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    245
    Likes Received:
    23
    Local time:
    03:26
    My System
    Loading...

    Hi,

    Username and password are required to access the router page for security. Unavailability of this would not allow anyone to enter the router page other than the owner of the device.

    Since Antman provided you the information needed, in addition to that please use the link provided below for the User guide of the router, which has instructions to setup the router:
    http://media.netcomm.com.au/public/assets/pdf_file/0003/40638/3G17WN-QSG.pdf

    Please reply if you have any further questions.
  6. downloadlimit

    downloadlimit Member PCHF $Donator Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Posts:
    180
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local time:
    09:56
    My System
    Loading...

    To save starting another post: do you know how to change my wireless settings to off; I just want to use ethernet.
    Thanks.
  7. downloadlimit

    downloadlimit Member PCHF $Donator Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Posts:
    180
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local time:
    09:56
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello, How do I change the username from admin/admin to something else? I'll have another look somewhere in the router settings. Thanks.
  8. Kalyan S

    Kalyan S Member Gold Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    245
    Likes Received:
    23
    Local time:
    03:26
    My System
    Loading...

    Hi,

    In the router page, click “Change Password” under “Basic Settings”. Enter the current password as admin, and create a new password. Please use the link provided below for the complete user guide of the router: http://media.netcomm.com.au/public/assets/pdf_file/0009/58563/3GM1WN-User-Guide.pdf

    Screen shot for the password changing screen is available in page # 23.

    Please reply if you have any further questions.