While gaming my monitor loses signal and my pc crashes!!

Solved
  1. azza1988

    azza1988 Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local time:
    14:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Hey guys, i've recently started having a problem with my pc where anytime i start playing a 3d game for example last week NWN2 and today The Witcher, after abut 5 or so minutes my pc monitor "loses signal" and then my pc proceeds to crash on me, i'm running my games off a ATI Radeon HD 4800 series card and i've checked through the catalyst program and the temperatures running between 55 - 60 degrees so i dont think its overheating.

    One thing worth mentioning though, is that i can play World of Warcraft, Medievil Total War 2 and Baldur's Gate 2 for hours without any problems arising.

    Any help would be greatley appreciated!
    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. vger

    vger Posts: 74000 back in the VB days.... Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    19,159
    Likes Received:
    1,813
    Local time:
    08:40
    My System
    Loading...

  3. azza1988

    azza1988 Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local time:
    14:40
    My System
    Loading...

    heres you go


    Date , GPU Core Clock [MHz] , GPU Memory Clock [MHz] , GPU Temperature [°C] , Fan Speed [%] , GPU Load [%] , Fan Speed [RPM] , GPU Temp.(DISPIO) [°C] , GPU Temp.(MEMIO) [°C] , GPU Temp.(SHADERCORE) [°C] , VDDC [V] ,

    2011-05-27 22:35:51 , 500.0 , 750.0 , 53.0 , 58 , 0 , - , 53.0 , 61.0 , 58.5 , 1.046 ,

    2011-05-27 22:35:52 , 500.0 , 750.0 , 53.0 , 58 , 0 , - , 53.5 , 61.0 , 59.0 , 1.046 ,

    2011-05-27 22:35:53 , 500.0 , 750.0 , 54.0 , 58 , 0 , - , 54.0 , 60.5 , 58.5 , 1.046 ,
     
  4. vger

    vger Posts: 74000 back in the VB days.... Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    19,159
    Likes Received:
    1,813
    Local time:
    08:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Ok let's try that again with the screen shot,so i can tell what is what..
     
  5. azza1988

    azza1988 Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local time:
    14:40
    My System
    Loading...

    aha sorry >_<

    heres both screens for you

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  6. vger

    vger Posts: 74000 back in the VB days.... Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    19,159
    Likes Received:
    1,813
    Local time:
    08:40
    My System
    Loading...

  7. azza1988

    azza1988 Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local time:
    14:40
    My System
    Loading...

    right i've just done what you said, i'll try run The Witcher now and i'll post back what happens
     
  8. azza1988

    azza1988 Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local time:
    14:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Alas, no joy :'(, could it be that my graphics card is just plain knackerd??
     
  9. vger

    vger Posts: 74000 back in the VB days.... Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    19,159
    Likes Received:
    1,813
    Local time:
    08:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello azza1988,let's not throw in the towel yet..I am going to PM the Tech who advised me with that last suggestion. He will be online about 6 or 7 PM central time..U.S.
     
  10. Xeno1

    Xeno1 Well-Known Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,839
    Likes Received:
    544
    Local time:
    07:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Let's try speedfan and see if we see anything. Download and install speedfan, there's a link to it in my signature at the bottom of this post.

    Run speedfan and then click on the configure button.

    Under the temperature tab you will see a list of the sensors that it reads, click on each individual sensor. When you do that you'll see a log checkbox appear at the bottom, check it. Remember, you have to do this for each sensor individually.

    Go to the voltage tab and do the same thing for each sensor shown.

    Then go to the log tab and check enabled.

    Leave speedfan running in the background and run one of the games until it crashes your computer. Reboot the computer and then go to C:\program files\speedfan and look for a file called SFLog(todays date).csv. Right click on it and click rename. Rename the file extension from .csv to .txt and then upload the file here for us to look at.
     
    vger likes this.
  11. azza1988

    azza1988 Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local time:
    14:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Heres the log for you, sorry for the wait!
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Xeno1

    Xeno1 Well-Known Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,839
    Likes Received:
    544
    Local time:
    07:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Not a problem. From your log it looks like you may have a power supply problem. Speedfan is showing that your 12V is 10% under it's rating which can definitely cause the issues your seeing. When you play your games and the video card can't draw the power that it needs it can cause overheating and/or your computer to shut off. Could you run one more report for me to check against? Download and run CPU-Z, there's a link to it in my signature at the bottom of this post, then go to the about tab and click save report (.txt) and upload it here. You don't need to run the game or anything, it's just a report and not a log.
     
  13. azza1988

    azza1988 Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local time:
    14:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Here ya go!
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Xeno1

    Xeno1 Well-Known Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,839
    Likes Received:
    544
    Local time:
    07:40
    My System
    Loading...

    What size is your power supply? CPU-Z shows the 12V as fine which leads me to think that your power supply just isn't large enough to handle your video card when running at full load, such as when you're playing your games.
     
  15. azza1988

    azza1988 Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    Local time:
    14:40
    My System
    Loading...

    It says on thew side of the power supply 230 Volts
     
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
PC Internal Hardware PC randomly shuts off while gaming. Dec 12, 2012
PC Internal Hardware Screen Flickering/Refreshing while Gaming. Jul 11, 2012
PC Internal Hardware While gaming my monitor loses signal and my pc is still running May 29, 2012
PC Internal Hardware Freeze ups while gaming. Biostar MOBO Mar 19, 2012