Which laptop is best for me (emits the least radiation)?

1. nuked&fried

nuked&fried New Member Bronze Member

Local time:
    02:48
    My System

Hi,

I have a problem that seems to be pretty unusual among the general population of computer users - I'm sensitive to the electromagnetic radiation that a laptop emits. I actually get a physiological response from laptop radiation it seems - which includes several uncomfortable/troubling symptoms.

Since I'm not a computer engineer or electrical engineer - and my computer literacy is quite low - I've been having quite a time trying to figure out which laptop model/configuration would be the least of the evils for me. I have focused less on the wireless card - and more on things I can "control" a little more easily - like the processor and graphics card. I have even taken note of the thickness of the laptop body when looking at prospective laptops - since my experience with my current laptop (an old Dell Latitude D600) has been that the cooler this laptop is, the less severe my symptoms are. For ex., when I have propped this laptop up so that more air can circulate underneath it - I have noticed a reduction/relief of my symptoms. It seems to me that thickness is more conducive to better air circulation/coolness within the body of the laptop. Thinner is not really better for folks like me.

But I suspect that there is a "non-heat" component of radiation that is bothering me - that perhaps has something to do with the power/speed of the processor. I have not "tested" that many laptops/processors at all - so I don't know for sure if this is the issue, or if it is something(s) else about the laptop that is bothering me.

Anyway - I've been looking at three different versions of the same-brand laptop, trying to determine which would be the least of the evils. They are:

ASUS 15.6" laptop (Model: K50IJ-BNC5), which has

Intel® Pentium® processor T4500