What is UpdatusUser Folder?

  1. larrymcg

    larrymcg Member PCHF $Donator Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Posts:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local time:
    05:01
    My System
    Loading...

    I've just noticed that my C:\Documents and Settings folder has a folder called UpdatusUser. When I open it it looks very much like other user folders - for example the User or Owner folders.

    This folder appears to have been created on June 30, 2011 so it is much younger than the other user folders which date from 2009.

    Comments on what the folder UpdatusUser might be?

    --Larry
     
  2. Hengis

    Hengis Proud PCHF'er since 2004 Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Posts:
    39,703
    Likes Received:
    5,037
    Local time:
    13:01
    My System
    Loading...

  3. larrymcg

    larrymcg Member PCHF $Donator Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Posts:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local time:
    05:01
    My System
    Loading...

    Hengis, That is an interesting thread. There are a couple NVIDIA update related folders on my system:
    C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVIDIA Updatus
    and
    C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\NVIDIA\Updatus

    These both have NVIDIA related stuff in them. NVIDIA Update is installed on my system. Maybe I will uninstall it. But now, back to the original topic.....

    The folder I mentioned in my original post is called:
    C:\Documents and Settings\UpdatusUser

    It has nothing related to NVIDIA in it.
    It has (buried several subfolders down) the MacroMedia airappinstaller.exe.
    There is also a Microsoft folder with subfolders with some things in them. The subfolders are called Credentials, Protect, Internet Explorer, SystemCertificates, and Media Player.
    Most of these subfolders are empty.

    Although the location and name of the UpdatusUser folder would make you think there is a user defined on the system called "UpdatusUser", I can find no evidence of it.

    --Larry
     
  4. larrymcg

    larrymcg Member PCHF $Donator Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Posts:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local time:
    05:01
    My System
    Loading...

    While investigating another issue I ran the MiniToolBox by Farbar. It lists UpdatusUser as a user on my system. But the User Accounts control panel does not list it. The only evidence of such a user is the UpdatusUser folder in C:\Documents and Settings.

    So what does that mean?

    --Larry
     
  5. Hengis

    Hengis Proud PCHF'er since 2004 Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Posts:
    39,703
    Likes Received:
    5,037
    Local time:
    13:01
    My System
    Loading...

    Hi Larry

    See if you can move that folder, temporarily, to another location and see if it effects anything - I suspect it's not going to cause you any issues.
     
  6. larrymcg

    larrymcg Member PCHF $Donator Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Posts:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local time:
    05:01
    My System
    Loading...

    I moved the folder, so far with no ill effects.
    However, MiniToolBox and Belarc Advisor still show a user called "UpdatusUser". Before moving the folder Belarc listed it as a local user account. After moving the folder Belarc lists it as a local system account.
    Hmmmmm....... Clear as mud to me!
     
  7. jseal1987

    jseal1987 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    07:01
    My System
    Loading...

    You'll just need to manually remove the profile. Easiest way i know is to follow these steps:

    >Hold the "Windows" button and press the 'R' key while holding it. (windows key left of spacebar, between alt and ctrl)
    >At the prompt, type "sysdm.cpl" ---no quotes
    >Navigate to the 'Advanced Tab.'
    >Click the "Settings" button under the 'User Profiles" section.
    >The 'updatususer' profile will be listed here as "unknown profile.'
    >Select the errant profile, and then press the 'delete' button further down the dialog box.