Very slow POST...

Solved
  1. gamerdad007

    gamerdad007 Goldfinger Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    Local time:
    20:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Hey all :)

    For the past couple weeks, I've been noticing a slow, very slow post time on boot. Even worse, sometimes it even freezes.

    Now, the only thing I could tell you that was changed was when it started, right before (and I mean right before I had to do a restart for a new setting to work) I used the Asus AI Suite to bump up the cpu a little. Once I did that and did the needed restart, that's when this started happening.

    Once I finally got back into windows, there was no sign of the cpu performance change, it was still sitting at stock config. Being said, I have no idea what could still be causing this to happen.

    Any ideas guys? Thanks :mrgreen:

    (By the way, I just gave a best guess on what forum this should be under. Move if needed ;) )
  2. Smokeycheech

    Smokeycheech Well-Known Member Elite Member PCHF $Donator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Posts:
    6,521
    Likes Received:
    849
    Location:
    Skynet HQ (kinda near PCHF bunker)
    Local time:
    01:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello Gamerdad! Welcome back to the forum!

    I have marked your thread as open to gain a techs opinion on the matter ;)

    Someone will be with you shortly!

    Regards,

    Smokeycheech :D
  3. toubib32

    toubib32 New Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Posts:
    370
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Nowhere city
    Local time:
    02:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello gamerdad007 :)
    Try "load default settings" in bios
  4. gamerdad007

    gamerdad007 Goldfinger Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    Local time:
    20:40
    My System
    Loading...

    I've done that, with no luck :BangHead:
  5. toubib32

    toubib32 New Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Posts:
    370
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Nowhere city
    Local time:
    02:40
    My System
    Loading...

    After selecting "Load Setup Defaults" and pressing "Enter", did you press the key "F10" to save changes and exit the BIOS menu?


  6. gamerdad007

    gamerdad007 Goldfinger Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    Local time:
    20:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Yes, yes. I did a standard bios reset. I even did a power cycle reset of the bios (maybe not the right way to explain, but I'm sure you know what I'm referring too).
  7. toubib32

    toubib32 New Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Posts:
    370
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Nowhere city
    Local time:
    02:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Enter Bios Boot settings configuration and set quick boot enabled
    F10 and try your PC boot time
  8. gamerdad007

    gamerdad007 Goldfinger Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    Local time:
    20:40
    My System
    Loading...

    I've had quick boot enabled the entire time.
  9. Amtech

    Amtech Well-Known Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Posts:
    2,694
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Bolton
    Local time:
    01:40
    My System
    Loading...

    When you say you powercycled it do you mean that you disconnected it from the power or something?

    If you haven't already done so you could try removing the CMOS battery for ten minutes then popping it back in.

    Although it looks like the only ways to fix this would be:

    Restoring settings somehow using the AI Suite
    Possibly updating or flashing the BIOS
  10. gamerdad007

    gamerdad007 Goldfinger Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    Local time:
    20:40
    My System
    Loading...

    You got it. That's what I did.
  11. toubib32

    toubib32 New Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Posts:
    370
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Nowhere city
    Local time:
    02:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Set the hard drive as the first boot device in the boot order in the BIOS Boot Device Priority menu
  12. toubib32

    toubib32 New Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Posts:
    370
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Nowhere city
    Local time:
    02:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello gamerdad007 :)
    I think you find the procedure I am trying as slow as your POST boot :rolleyes:
    I am explaining: I am trying to change your bios settings one by one so that we resolve the problem. Perhaps you ask yourself Why I do not list you all modifications in a single message. Because changing a PC's BIOS settings incorrectly can cause the PC to malfunction.
    If procedure blocks the pc we can correct one setting without resetting the bios again ;)
  13. gamerdad007

    gamerdad007 Goldfinger Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    Local time:
    20:40
    My System
    Loading...

    As this thread has continued, I have done other reboots and it seems as though it is getting back to booting as fast as it did prior.

    Also to respond to your previous post, I had/have it set to boot from HDD first.

    I fully understand the importance of a correct bios configuration. ;)
  14. toubib32

    toubib32 New Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Posts:
    370
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Nowhere city
    Local time:
    02:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Ok :) Good news ;)
  15. Amtech

    Amtech Well-Known Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Posts:
    2,694
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Bolton
    Local time:
    01:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Maybe you had a USB or other device connected at boot and now it has been removed.

    Sometimes you can forget about those things and they can cause little annoyances.

    Would it be okay to mark this as Solved now then?
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
PC Internal Hardware PC gets slower every time I try to fix it. Dec 3, 2013
PC Internal Hardware Everything on PC is slow Oct 15, 2011
PC Internal Hardware 2D graphics/video very slow Aug 4, 2009
PC Internal Hardware Old and very slow, need to speed it up help Jul 31, 2005