USB Mass Storage Device is not showing

Solved
  1. davesam

    davesam New Member Gold Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Posts:
    315
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local time:
    20:10
    My System
    Loading...

    when i connected my nokia mobile through data cable,i cant able to see that option USB Mass Storage Device in system tray...

    also when i connected handycam,that option was not showing...

    but when i connect my ipod to it,that option shows.......how ?

    so i cant disconnect it properly as i also cant see ------Safely remove USB Mass Storage Device in system tray........

    for now i disconnected directly by pulling the cable out without using any option.i dont want to do that here after.

    Why that option --- USB Mass Storage Device is not showing in system tray ?

    How that option --- USB Mass Storage Device is showing only when i connect my ipod ?
  2. Jelly Bean

    Jelly Bean Local PC Noobie.... Elite Member PCHF $Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Posts:
    12,988
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    Tycroes,Camarthenshire.
    Local time:
    15:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello Davesam I have marked your thread as "Open" ready for the guys and girls to advise you.

    JB.
  3. Gandalf

    Gandalf The White Wizard Tech Member Elite Member PCHF $Donator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    7,453
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Local time:
    07:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Please post your system specs at...
    Click on User CP
    Slide down to Edit Options
    then slide down to System Specs.
    Also, set the option pulldown to YES.

    You can click on the Belarc link in my signature.
    Download/run the scan (it's FREE).
    It will give you the specs on your computer.

    This will help us help you.

    Thanks...
  4. davesam

    davesam New Member Gold Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Posts:
    315
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local time:
    20:10
    My System
    Loading...

    On User CP under edit Options ----System Specs,i set the option pulldown to YES.

    I downloaded belarc advisor..
    It gave the specs for my computer............

    That is showing everything..........So i must copy and paste that here ?

    Here ..under my userid..............under my pc.........why the pc information is not showing ?
  5. Gandalf

    Gandalf The White Wizard Tech Member Elite Member PCHF $Donator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    7,453
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Local time:
    07:40
    My System
    Loading...

    You selected the YES dropdown so you were in the correct area, but there is not data showing below it.
    Please try again. Copy/Paste.

    Thanks
  6. davesam

    davesam New Member Gold Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Posts:
    315
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local time:
    20:10
    My System
    Loading...

    I entered few only..............

    some other i dont know how to find that exact name from that belarc profile of my pc.

    There is no name as mother board showing there...........I think that must be main circuit board................I didnt entered it.

    I know the size of RAM ..but i dont know the make ..................
    There is no name as RAM in that belarc profile.
    I think there must be in some other name.

    And sound card and graphics card...i dont know what are they..................
  7. Gandalf

    Gandalf The White Wizard Tech Member Elite Member PCHF $Donator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    7,453
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Local time:
    07:40
    My System
    Loading...


    Hope this help.
  8. Gandalf

    Gandalf The White Wizard Tech Member Elite Member PCHF $Donator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    7,453
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Local time:
    07:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Open your Device Manager
    click on View ... Show hidden devices

    Click on and Delete (with the Delete key) any devices that have a ? or ! in front of them.
    If the Device Manager has an "Other" device category, open it and Delete any devices in the "Other" category.
    Now, reboot.

    The reboot will force Windows to refind the deleted devices and hopefully see them for what they are.
    After rebooting, give Windows time to locate and properly install the deleted devices.

    Go to the Device Manager and verify that all your devices are listed correctly.

    When completed, make a snapshot of the Device Manager and post it in your reply.

    Thanks...
  9. davesam

    davesam New Member Gold Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Posts:
    315
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local time:
    20:10
    My System
    Loading...

    The only one device called Serial which has ! before it...................

    When i pressed delte key,it says :

    Warning : You are about to uninstall this device from your system.

    Will there be any problem if i delete that ?

    And i must take the snapshot of the hidden devices only from the Device Manager or the default screen which shows when opening device manager ?
  10. Gandalf

    Gandalf The White Wizard Tech Member Elite Member PCHF $Donator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    7,453
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Local time:
    07:40
    My System
    Loading...

    The device is not functioning properly.
    By deleting it and rebooting as the posting said, Windows will have a chance to find the device again and either put it where it should go or back to where it was (hopefully not). Which is why you want to return to the Device Manager to see if the ! warning is still indicated.

    I don't send you those recommendations for the fun of it.
    It's your choice to either follow the recommendations or not.
    If you choose not to comply, then I can not help you.

    The choise is yours.
    georgeks likes this.
  11. Gandalf

    Gandalf The White Wizard Tech Member Elite Member PCHF $Donator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    7,453
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Local time:
    07:40
    My System
    Loading...

    "make a snapshot of the Device Manager "

    As it is. If there is a catagory that is open, leave it open, but snap it as it is after the reboot.
  12. davesam

    davesam New Member Gold Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Posts:
    315
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local time:
    20:10
    My System
    Loading...

    untitled.JPG


    After rebooting,that device called Serial which has that sign ! is disappeared.


    Already i wanted to ask you onething...............Also you can see in that snapshot,SM Bus controller under other devices also has both that sign ? and ! on it.

    Then under SCSI and RAID controllers---Unknown device has the sign ! on it.

    Both SM Bus controller and Unknown device has that sign already before somedays....I thought to make a post for these two..........Anyway now i included these along with this post.
  13. Gandalf

    Gandalf The White Wizard Tech Member Elite Member PCHF $Donator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    7,453
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Local time:
    07:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Thanks for posting your system specs.

    As for your Device Manager, pleasse, delete all the devices with a !

    Then reboot.

    Post a new copy of the Device Manager after you reboot.
  14. davesam

    davesam New Member Gold Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Posts:
    315
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local time:
    20:10
    My System
    Loading...

    Unknown device is disappeared after rebooting............

    I didnt make a snapshot because still that SM Bus controller under other devices has both that sign ? and ! on it.

    It is asking to install it............I cant install as i dont have any cd-ROM related to that.....

    first of all,what is SM Bus controller ?

    what is the use of it ?
  15. Gandalf

    Gandalf The White Wizard Tech Member Elite Member PCHF $Donator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    7,453
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Local time:
    07:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Are you saying that you can not delete the entry with the delete key?
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
External Hardware usb problem-mass storage devices Sep 2, 2008
External Hardware usb port mass data Sep 18, 2009
External Hardware [Answered] Growing Black Mass Jul 27, 2007
External Hardware HDD Storage Feb 7, 2013