System Startup problems

Solved
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Crush

    Crush Tech Member Tech Member Elite Member mvp

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Posts:
    42,177
    Likes Received:
    4,381
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Local time:
    22:25
    My System
    Loading...

    Hi,

    After discussing we've determined all is good with your combofix log.

    Please run a free online scan with the ESET Online Scanner
    Note: You will need to use Internet Explorer for this scan
    • Tick the box next to YES, I accept the Terms of Use
    • Click Start
    • When asked, allow the ActiveX control to install
    • Click Start
    • Make sure that the options Remove found threats and the option Scan unwanted applications is checked
    • Click Scan (This scan can take several hours, so please be patient)
    • Once the scan is completed, you may close the window
    • Use Notepad to open the logfile located at C:\Program Files\EsetOnlineScanner\log.txt
    • Copy and paste that log as a reply to this topic
  2. tanshin

    tanshin New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Local time:
    22:25
    My System
    Loading...

    Well that is good to hear, I was beginning to worry I was going to have to do a reinstall. I can't run the ESET Online Scanner until I get the machine online.
  3. Crush

    Crush Tech Member Tech Member Elite Member mvp

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Posts:
    42,177
    Likes Received:
    4,381
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Local time:
    22:25
    My System
    Loading...

    Ok. Where do we stand with that? What issue are you currently experiencing getting online?
  4. tanshin

    tanshin New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Local time:
    22:25
    My System
    Loading...

    OK, when I try to connect to the dial-up connection everything goes fine and verifies my username and password. Right after that the connecting window would minimize to the tray, but now it tries and instead of minimizing it gives me an error that says "Checking network protocol connections... TCP/IP CP reported error 2: The system cannot find the file specified.".
  5. Crush

    Crush Tech Member Tech Member Elite Member mvp

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Posts:
    42,177
    Likes Received:
    4,381
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Local time:
    22:25
    My System
    Loading...

    Hi,

    Do you have, or have you ever had Norton installed on this machine?
  6. tanshin

    tanshin New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Local time:
    22:25
    My System
    Loading...

    Not that I remember. If it was ever installed it would have been when I first purchased it years ago, but I did a clean install of xp since then.
  7. DCiAdmin

    DCiAdmin Here to Help!

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    16,759
    Likes Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    Heart of the US Midwest
    Local time:
    21:25
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello tanshin :)

    Crush asked me to drop by to lend a hand with this for you. Have you seen this KB article from Microsoft regarding your issue? Perhaps it will help. I look forward to hearing good news! :mrgreen:
  8. tanshin

    tanshin New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Local time:
    22:25
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello DCiAdmin,

    Sorry it took a few days to get back to you, I've been in the hospital and didn't get out until last night. I checked out the link you left me and it seems like my problem but I cannot find the correct registry entry. Maybe it is because I am using XP?
  9. DCiAdmin

    DCiAdmin Here to Help!

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    16,759
    Likes Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    Heart of the US Midwest
    Local time:
    21:25
    My System
    Loading...

    Wow - tanshin! I hope it was nothing serious! Take care of yourself!

    I'll do some searching for the error under Windows XP. It might be a bit - I've got a picnic to prepare for today.
  10. tanshin

    tanshin New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Local time:
    22:25
    My System
    Loading...

    I'll be fine, thank you for your help and have a great picnic.
  11. DCiAdmin

    DCiAdmin Here to Help!

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    16,759
    Likes Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    Heart of the US Midwest
    Local time:
    21:25
    My System
    Loading...

    This appears to be the most likely from what I've found.

    Then there is this brute force method.... Try this at your own risk and with caution.

    Please be aware whenever you are asked to make registry changes, you should either backup your registry or create a New System Restore Point. Microsoft explains registry backup here
  12. tanshin

    tanshin New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Local time:
    22:25
    My System
    Loading...

    Well... What if none of those methods work for me? I can't seem to find any of the registry entries it speaks of... The Windows repair option never seems to want to get past the C:\WINDOWS prompt... And it will not let me uninstall the TCP/IP to reinstall... Help! lol
  13. DCiAdmin

    DCiAdmin Here to Help!

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    16,759
    Likes Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    Heart of the US Midwest
    Local time:
    21:25
    My System
    Loading...

    Could you provide any more information about this? Any error codes or messages?

    Have you tried creating a new User Profile? Does the issue exist under the new profile?

    Sadly, almost every post I saw regarding this issue ended in a format and reinstallation.....
  14. tanshin

    tanshin New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Local time:
    22:25
    My System
    Loading...

    Wow I hope it doesn't come down to that... This is the error message I get when I click uninstall:

    Could not uninstall the Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) component. Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) is still required by the following component(s) and cannot be uninstalled until those components are uninstalled:

    Simple TCP/IP Services​

    Whatever that is... I have not tried creating a new User Profile, but I can. If I do should it be a normal user or admin? Is there a way to remove the Simple TCP/IP Services and reinstall along with Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)?

    Edit: After a google search on removing Simple TCP/IP Services I found this link: Reinstall TCP/IP on Windows XP but wanted to see what you thought before I blindly try it.
  15. DCiAdmin

    DCiAdmin Here to Help!

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    16,759
    Likes Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    Heart of the US Midwest
    Local time:
    21:25
    My System
    Loading...

    Have you tried this? Sorry, I am unable to check backwards as I am currently at work. I think we have....
    I think the only part of that I would give a try to is this to remove Simple TCP/IP
    BUT please have a read of this before doing anything
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
System Security system.exe prompt on startup? Mar 26, 2014
System Security It's the "Microsoft calling" scam. Now System Startup Password required. Jan 10, 2014
System Security System Preparation Tool 2.0 at startup Dec 21, 2008
System Security Can't install any antivirus system Mar 10, 2014

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.