Port 13568, What Is It?

  1. sodapop554

    sodapop554 Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    804
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Chino Valley, AZ
    Local time:
    22:00
    My System
    Loading...

    I'm not sure when it occured but there is a blocked Outgoing event for my ZoneAlarm Free Firewall. It was trying to go from my computer to another computer on port 13568, what does this mean?
  2. xXBludnmunyXx

    xXBludnmunyXx Tech Member Tech Member Elite Member PCHF $Donator

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Posts:
    721
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Local time:
    22:00
    My System
    Loading...

    Can you click on the "Prework (malware issues)" link in my signature and follow the instructions to post the requested logs? I suspect malware from first glance.
  3. xXBludnmunyXx

    xXBludnmunyXx Tech Member Tech Member Elite Member PCHF $Donator

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Posts:
    721
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Local time:
    22:00
    My System
    Loading...

    As for the Port 13568 question, it's just a port on your router. A port is basically a window. Data comes in and out of these windows all the time. However, think about your computer being a house. A burglar (malware) could come through the window at any time and invade your home. That's where a firewall comes in. The firewall blocks any incoming/outgoing connections unless configured to let specific programs transfer data thorugh the blocked port.
    DCiAdmin likes this.
  4. Arctos

    Arctos Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    4,111
    Likes Received:
    884
    Local time:
    15:00
    My System
    Loading...

    A description of port 13568 and what it does...

    Port 13568 (tcp/udp)
  5. sodapop554

    sodapop554 Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    804
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Chino Valley, AZ
    Local time:
    22:00
    My System
    Loading...

    Well I did use an adobe connect session today with my AIMS Math tutor where we shared my screen so they could help me with some test problems. Could that have been the cause of this particular port event? I have MSE & I just ran a scan today, no malware found.
  6. sodapop554

    sodapop554 Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    804
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Chino Valley, AZ
    Local time:
    22:00
    My System
    Loading...

    Okay I read that but what's it all basically mean? Does it mean I'm infected & the malware is trying to access the internet. I don't know how that can be since for the most part my computer runs fine & I run weekly scans with MSE only to find nothing.
  7. xXBludnmunyXx

    xXBludnmunyXx Tech Member Tech Member Elite Member PCHF $Donator

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Posts:
    721
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Local time:
    22:00
    My System
    Loading...

    Good AV choice :mrgreen:

    Now does the firewall specify the exact time the connection was blocked? I have my doubts that this is the cause only because you managed to connect to the tutor, however we can look into this.

    I have no experience with ZoneAlarm, so bare with me. There is normally an exceptions list for firewalls that will allow specific programs go through firewalls. Can you find this exception list on the firewall and see if you allow Adobe Connect Session through the firewall?
  8. Hengis

    Hengis Proud PCHF'er since 2004 Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Posts:
    39,703
    Likes Received:
    5,037
    Location:
    Southern UK
    Local time:
    06:00
    My System
    Loading...

    If you're concerned, block the port. It shouldn't cause you any problems and you'll know when it does, as the app that needs it will tell you...
  9. sodapop554

    sodapop554 Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    804
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Chino Valley, AZ
    Local time:
    22:00
    My System
    Loading...

    Yes Adobe Connect is allowed, it did say the time but not specifically. Also too I accidentally cleared the event so the only information I have is what I've provided in my main post. Normally the only blocked outgoing events my firewall ever gets is if I reset the modem or when my computer 1st boots. Although I'm not sure if they're all through the same port or not. So being that I have a good AV which says I'm clean what is trying to access this port from my computer that it's being blocked?
  10. sodapop554

    sodapop554 Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    804
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Chino Valley, AZ
    Local time:
    22:00
    My System
    Loading...

    Well it already said that the event was blocked. It's just I don't want to be infected even if my Firewall prevents the malware from doing anything.
  11. samuria

    samuria Network Specialist Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Posts:
    21,587
    Likes Received:
    1,602
    Location:
    Crewe Uk
    Local time:
    06:00
    My System
    Loading...

    If you download the free tcipview it will show all the connection look for that port and see whats connected it may be a genuine connection
  12. sodapop554

    sodapop554 Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    804
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Chino Valley, AZ
    Local time:
    22:00
    My System
    Loading...

    I will although now I just experienced some more very strange activity I must make another thread on :(

    By the way I just now ran tcipview & I can't find any listing for anything running under port 13568. In addition, I've discovered that for the most part this event only appears once in my firewall when my computer starts up or when I reset my modem. This leads me to believe & hope that it's just a legit service. Apparently I guess it was a little delayed which is why it appeared to occur later when I checked my firewall events again. I check them once when I startup & again about once every hour or 2. I'd very much appreciate yours & every 1 else's input on this new info to hopefully rule out the possibility of an infection MSE cant detect.

    *Scratch what I said about it being only when I start my computer up. Upon looking into more of my event logs I just now realized that there is another blocked outgoing attempt for port 35072. So now what's this mean?
  13. samuria

    samuria Network Specialist Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Posts:
    21,587
    Likes Received:
    1,602
    Location:
    Crewe Uk
    Local time:
    06:00
    My System
    Loading...

    The port tell us nothing we need to know what ip connecting to. Any thing can use any port it likes
  14. sodapop554

    sodapop554 Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    804
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Chino Valley, AZ
    Local time:
    22:00
    My System
    Loading...

    I cannot find out the IP, unfortunately ZoneAlarm makes you pay to know.
  15. samuria

    samuria Network Specialist Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Posts:
    21,587
    Likes Received:
    1,602
    Location:
    Crewe Uk
    Local time:
    06:00
    My System
    Loading...

    tcipview will show the ip of any connection
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
Network Help Port 13568, Two Different Sources. Feb 7, 2012
Network Help Router and port help Jul 8, 2014
Network Help IT Support Jul 7, 2014
Network Help 1 Gigabit port limited Jul 2, 2014