My hard disk will not boot my OS

  1. saterHater

    saterHater New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    08:39
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello All.
    So for a year I've been dual booting my PC. My main (and most important) partition being my windows 64 bit professional space and the other one being a test space for various distros I fancied.

    Unfortunately, after trying out a more complicated Linux variant the boot loader program (GRUBS) stopped working--as in I would issue the command to load either linux or windows and then I would get error messages and no OS would load. I felt confident that I could fix the problem by simply installing a new version of linux on top of the old one would somehow create a better working version of GRUBS so that everything would fix itself. It didn't work. So eventually I decided to install windows in my linux partition in the hope that everything would just magically work. That didn't work either.

    So here's my situation: when I turn on my PC, the BIOS attempts to boot from the Hard disk. At which point the screen shows the message: "Booting...".

    -i'm fairly confident my Hard drive is working correctly, but I've been doing a TON of partitioning to my 2nd (linux) side of my hard drive


    Can anyone help me diagnose the problem? I'm fairly sure it has to do with the MBR being messed up from all of my OS's being installed and whatnot.
     
  2. samuria

    samuria Network Specialist Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Posts:
    22,045
    Likes Received:
    1,658
    Local time:
    14:39
    My System
    Loading...

    If you boot a windows cd open a recovery and then repair MBR and Boot record that should get windows up and running. The cmds depends on the version of windows you are running. You may have to set the windows partition as the active one if its net set
     
    saterHater likes this.
  3. saterHater

    saterHater New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    08:39
    My System
    Loading...

    Thanks for the suggestionj, samuria!

    I've booted from my Windows 7 professional 64 bit disk. What happens is I've tried 2 things:
    -Using the Command prompt, I've tried to activate the 'fixmbr' program to no avail. the terminal says "no such file/program fount".
    -I've also tried the "Startup Repair" option on the menu screen. It looks a little something like this:
    [​IMG]
    neither of my actions produced any change.

    I'm afraid I'm a bit thick and I don't know how to get the 'fixmbr' to work or how to set my good windows partition to be the main partition.

    Could you refer me to a tutorial or guide that would help me accomplish your suggestion?
     
  4. Malnutrition

    Malnutrition Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,888
    Likes Received:
    779
    Local time:
    10:39
    My System
    Loading...

  5. JoshWebs

    JoshWebs Member Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Posts:
    194
    Likes Received:
    13
    Local time:
    15:39
    My System
    Loading...

    saterHater likes this.
  6. saterHater

    saterHater New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    08:39
    My System
    Loading...

  7. saterHater

    saterHater New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    08:39
    My System
    Loading...

    So I tried the tutorial step by step. It produced no change. It also suggested that I use a program called Bootrec (link here). So I tried using the "RebuildBcd" command. Now when my PC tried to boot from the HD, it shows the message "Loading Operating System..."
     
  8. Malnutrition

    Malnutrition Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,888
    Likes Received:
    779
    Local time:
    10:39
    My System
    Loading...

    Samurai will have to step back in here as I am not to familiar with this area.
     
    saterHater likes this.
  9. samuria

    samuria Network Specialist Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Posts:
    22,045
    Likes Received:
    1,658
    Local time:
    14:39
    My System
    Loading...

    You may need to reset MBR and bootrecord but did you check the partition is set as active?
     
    saterHater likes this.
  10. saterHater

    saterHater New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    08:39
    My System
    Loading...

    Hmm...I'm not sure how I can check/set if my main partition is active from Windows RE. I'll try doing from an Ubuntu boot disk.
     
  11. saterHater

    saterHater New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    08:39
    My System
    Loading...

    I used diskpart to set my preffered partition to an active state from this link. I'm still getting "Loading Operation System ..."
    On to resetting the MBR and boot record...I'll let you know what happens when I do it tomorrow.
     
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
Windows 7 Can't use all of my 4tb hard disk Jul 4, 2014
Windows 7 External Hard disk doesn't show up in 'my computer' Jun 25, 2014
Windows 7 Hard Disk Problem Apr 28, 2014
Windows 7 Failing Hard Disk? Sep 30, 2013