My Acer laptop keeps turning itself off!

Solved
  1. Soozi

    Soozi Member Silver Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Posts:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canary Islands
    Local time:
    17:09
    My System
    Loading...

    Hi,
    Can anyone help? I have a Acer Aspire 5610 laptop now 4 years old, for some reason it keeps turning itself off (completely) no warning, no blue screen nothing!#!# I feel it might be an internal component, but what? it´s not overheating temp does not normally exceed 54º-60º

    I have done a full Anti-virus scan with Bitdefender...no threats:BangHead:
    Thanks.
  2. apemax17

    apemax17 Tech support and Linux user Staff Member Moderator Elite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    2,805
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    lincoln,uk
    Local time:
    17:09
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello and welcome to PCHF Soozi.:)

    I have marked your thread open to attract the attention of one of our techs. So someone will be with you shortly.
    Soozi likes this.
  3. monkeymagic

    monkeymagic guinness gives you strength Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,613
    Likes Received:
    572
    Location:
    the maiden city. northern ireland
    Local time:
    17:09
    My System
    Loading...

    Hi Soozi. Can you click on Pcspecs in my signature and post back please. how much memory does it have. I have seen faulty memory cause this.
    Monkeymagic...
    Soozi likes this.
  4. Soozi

    Soozi Member Silver Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Posts:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canary Islands
    Local time:
    17:09
    My System
    Loading...

    Hi monkeymagic,

    Thank you for your reply!
    I have 47% free space on C drive and 70% on Data D is that what you mean?...sorry not good on the Tech stuff. It appears to turn off more often when I am streaming footy for other half?
    Thanks!
    ps. I have cleaned the fan. but not the fan sink I wouldn´t have a clue how to do that and wouldn´t even try.:punch:
    Plug and Play Monitor
  5. monkeymagic

    monkeymagic guinness gives you strength Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,613
    Likes Received:
    572
    Location:
    the maiden city. northern ireland
    Local time:
    17:09
    My System
    Loading...

    can i ask what you have used to monitor the temps. How did you clean the fan?
  6. monkeymagic

    monkeymagic guinness gives you strength Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,613
    Likes Received:
    572
    Location:
    the maiden city. northern ireland
    Local time:
    17:09
    My System
    Loading...

    can you update the bios from here
  7. Soozi

    Soozi Member Silver Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Posts:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canary Islands
    Local time:
    17:09
    My System
    Loading...

    I took the cover off and just blew into it (it looked free of dust and fluff)...I have also had this done by a professional once before and he just plucked the deposit of fluff out with tiny tweezers, but I was getting a blue screen then (about 2 years ago) it didn´t just turn off as it is now.
  8. Soozi

    Soozi Member Silver Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Posts:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canary Islands
    Local time:
    17:09
    My System
    Loading...

    I have Iolo system mechanic program and it has a check list for system diagnostics...I check the temp from there.
  9. Soozi

    Soozi Member Silver Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Posts:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canary Islands
    Local time:
    17:09
    My System
    Loading...

    Hi again, clicked on the link but I don´t understand what I am supposed to do? what has Vodaphone got to do with it all please? confused :-(
  10. monkeymagic

    monkeymagic guinness gives you strength Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,613
    Likes Received:
    572
    Location:
    the maiden city. northern ireland
    Local time:
    17:09
    My System
    Loading...

    you said "I took the cover off and just blew into it (it looked free of dust and fluff)" I am trying to find the manual for your laptop. a problem i know of with dell laptop is that when you blow into the fan to clean it, the dust/dirt builds up in the heatsink vent which is beside the fan. once this is claeaned it will no longer shut down.
    can you download speedfan or SIW and use these to monitor the temps.

    the bios update Bios Version 3.50 is near the bottom of the page in that link.
    MM
  11. Soozi

    Soozi Member Silver Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Posts:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canary Islands
    Local time:
    17:09
    My System
    Loading...

    This is a terrific forum! glad I found you! don´t suppose the feeling is mutual:mrgreen:

    Right! I have updated the BIOS and did a restart all fine!

    Downloaded Speedfan also set it to auto adjust fan speed. and here are my current readings... does this tell you anything? I would have thought these readings would be perfectly acceptable?
    HD0 52c
    Temp 1 62c
    Temp 2 62c
    Core0 52c
    Core1 52c
  12. monkeymagic

    monkeymagic guinness gives you strength Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,613
    Likes Received:
    572
    Location:
    the maiden city. northern ireland
    Local time:
    17:09
    My System
    Loading...

    those temps look ok soozi. we are always glad to see new peeps here. stick aroound. it's good fun....
    let it run now for a while with the bios update and let me know how it goes.
    monkeymagic...
  13. Soozi

    Soozi Member Silver Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Posts:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canary Islands
    Local time:
    17:09
    My System
    Loading...

    Thanks so much!

    I normally put lappy in sleep mode to stop it turning itself off but will just turn the screen off and leave it running to see what happens...fingers crossed;)
  14. monkeymagic

    monkeymagic guinness gives you strength Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,613
    Likes Received:
    572
    Location:
    the maiden city. northern ireland
    Local time:
    17:09
    My System
    Loading...

    i will wait to hear back from you. good luck. does it happen when you are streaming stuff or at other times.
    Soozi likes this.
  15. Soozi

    Soozi Member Silver Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Posts:
    115
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canary Islands
    Local time:
    17:09
    My System
    Loading...

    Me again!

    It seems to happen quicker/more often when streaming TV. It just turned off again after steaming TV for about 15 minutes! I just looked at the temps and all increased a bit. I doesn´t seem to happen when I am just using laptop ie for emails or internet?

    Temp1 71
    Temp2 71

    Hmm!?*?
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
Laptop Support Acer Aspire 4736 Laptop shuts down while booting Jan 11, 2014
Laptop Support Acer Aspire 5733 Laptop Generic PNP Monitor help! Nov 26, 2013
Laptop Support DVD problem with Acer Aspire 5742: hope my laptop not's broken :( Aug 21, 2013
Laptop Support Acer laptop windows explorer failed to open. May 16, 2013