"MSHOME is not accessible" error message

  1. Cheshire cat

    Cheshire cat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    22:35
    My System
    Loading...

    I set up a home network using XP's Network setup wizard. The main box is running XP Home and the second box runs XP Pro. Both boxes are wired to a Linksys cable router 4 port switch thru which they are able to access the internet.
    When I try to view the network from the main box, I get the message that "MSHOME is not accessible" and I might need premission to use network resource. (I am logged on as the Administrator) Norton Internet security is enabled and recognizes the second box as authorized for access. Both of the printers and the scanner are set up for sharing. Second box sees the main box but cannot access it.
    Is the error message from the XP home limits or is there another item that needs to be checked? Any help greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Jelly Bean

    Jelly Bean Local PC Noobie.... Elite Member PCHF $Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Posts:
    12,988
    Likes Received:
    454
    Local time:
    05:35
    My System
    Loading...

    re: "MSHOME is not accessible" error message

    Hello and welcome to PCHelpForum.

    Try changing both work groupe to WORKGROUP.

    XP Home is MSHOME as default.Change it to WORKGROUP.

    Marked as "Open" to receive further help from the more knowing ones.

    JB.
     
  3. Cheshire cat

    Cheshire cat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    22:35
    My System
    Loading...

    re: "MSHOME is not accessible" error message

    Tried the rename for the network on both boxes and this did not make any difference.
    cc
     
  4. Hengis

    Hengis Proud PCHF'er since 2004 Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Posts:
    39,703
    Likes Received:
    5,037
    Local time:
    05:35
    My System
    Loading...

    re: "MSHOME is not accessible" error message

    Hi there,

    It could be something as simple as your browser service is not running. Try this;

    1. Open a CMD.EXE window.
    2. Type the following command and press Enter:
    REG ADD HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Browser /V Start /T REG_DWORD /F /D 3
    3. Shutdown and restart Windows XP.
    4. Open a CMD.EXE window.
    5. Type the following command and press Enter:
    NET START BROWSER
     
  5. Cheshire cat

    Cheshire cat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    22:35
    My System
    Loading...

    Did the command line with restart of system and still cannot call up Network w/o getting the error message "Home is not accessible. You might not have permission to use the net work resource. Contact your system Administrator". I am logged in as sys admin and when I go to the "View Workgroup computers", I get the error message. Also tried to view connections using View Network connections and all I see is "Local Area Connection 4" (for email VPN), "Local Area Connection, Broadband NetXtreme 57xx gig...", and "1394 Connection 1394 adapter".
    No other connections listed even though Norton firewall is open to the XP Pro box.
    When I do a ping from the XP home box to the XP pro box I get 0ms responses, but pinging in reverse it does not work. Verified that XP firewall on the home box is off as well as verifying that it is to reply to ping commands.
    Hope that this additional information is helpful in tracking down problem.
    cc
     
  6. Hengis

    Hengis Proud PCHF'er since 2004 Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Posts:
    39,703
    Likes Received:
    5,037
    Local time:
    05:35
    My System
    Loading...

    Try switching off the Norton firewall as a test to see if it's getting in the way somehow here.
     
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
Network Help Mshome is not accessible May 26, 2011
Network Help Shared files not accessible on network Jan 19, 2011