Laptop won't connect to TV via HDMI

1. MasterRS

MasterRS Member Silver Member

Local time:
    20:35
    My System

Just got my toshiba laptop back from insurance and I ordered a new HDMI cable..before it went off it worked with a friends HDMI cable fine..tried it now and all I get is a 'no video avaible' message. I have a Alba TV and my laptop is toshiba satellite..tried pressing FN and F5 but it doesnt do anything..also tried windows mobility...still nothing..
  2. DCiAdmin

DCiAdmin Here to Help!

Local time:
    14:35
    My System

Welcome back, MasterRS :)

I've got zero experience connecting laptops to HDMI TVs, so I'll get your issue marked as OPEN to attract the attention of the experts that frequent PCHF.

It would be most helpful if you could complete your [​IMG] portion of the User Profile (instructions also available in the PINK link below). That would put your system's information in the small computer icon just right of your name. Be sure to note if this is a desktop or laptop system. The System Specs information will "travel with you" at PCHF so we don't have to ask for it again. Be sure to mark them to be visible. The default is NOT to show them.

Please know that our Community of Volunteers come from locations around the world so time zones play a big part in how quickly the person with the answer is available to address your question. Your patience is appreciated!
  3. abhi.ko

abhi.ko Active Member Tech Member Gold Member

Local time:
    My System

On which screen do you get the message that no video is available, TV or Laptop! What is the status of the other screen when that happens?