ip 192.168.10.1 problem

  1. talourd

    talourd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    13:43
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello
    We have a D-link DIR-615 router connected to my office computer and we can get wireless accees in some rooms but want to extend the range. I have just bought a wireless-N wi-fi repeater. In the quick installation guide instructions it says:
    click start>Control panel>View network status and tasks>Manage network connections>Local area network>Properties>Local area connection properties>internet protocol version 4 (TCP/IPv4) then properties.
    Set IP address manually
    IP address 192.168.10.x (x is from 2 to 254)
    subset mask is 255.255.255.0
    Type the routers LAN IP address (the default is 192.168.10.1) into the gateway field.

    NEXT
    Open web browser type http://192.168.10.1 and login.
    When I try to access that site I can't , I just get an error message Internet exploer can't display this page so I can't login to the setup wizard. The repeater didn't come with an installation CD.
    Very new to networking and need some pointers please. I'm not sure what I should have connected or disconnected but can't- get any further and it's driving me mad
    Thanks in advance
  2. samuria

    samuria Network Specialist Staff Member Moderator Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Posts:
    20,399
    Likes Received:
    1,468
    Location:
    Crewe Uk
    Local time:
    13:43
    My System
    Loading...

    What is the model so we can check. Normally you dont set an ip if you set it to auto it will find it ok. Does it have any lan ports and are some called a wan port? I am struggling without a model number
  3. talourd

    talourd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    13:43
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello thankyou for responding
    The wifi router I have is a D-Link DIR-615 Version D3
    This has 4 wired ports
    The Wireless-N wifi repeater is Model WS-WN518N2
    Wireless-N AP/Repeater_Wireless&Networking_Shenzhen Winstars Technology Co., Ltd. - Powered by Winstars IT Department same as this one although not purchased on this site It has three lights
    1. power indicator
    2. wireless indicator
    3. Lan indicator
    It also has one RJ45 port and a rest button
    My office computer which is connected to the router doesn't have a wifi card.
    Does this info help

    The IP address for the router is 192.168.0.1
    The IP address for the repeater is 192.168.10.1
    Should they be the same or will there be a conflict?
    Thanks in advance
  4. samuria

    samuria Network Specialist Staff Member Moderator Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Posts:
    20,399
    Likes Received:
    1,468
    Location:
    Crewe Uk
    Local time:
    13:43
    My System
    Loading...

    You need to set a pc to 192.168.10.5 subnet 255.255.255.0 and you need to plug it into the repeater with a cable. You should then be able to access the setup page. Its should then do a site survey for you and you can choose your router
  5. tammy70

    tammy70 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    14:43
    My System
    Loading...

    have the same problem and even after taken these steps I still can't get up the browser of 192.168.10.1
    PLEASE HELP!!
  6. samuria

    samuria Network Specialist Staff Member Moderator Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Posts:
    20,399
    Likes Received:
    1,468
    Location:
    Crewe Uk
    Local time:
    13:43
    My System
    Loading...

    Tammy70 please start your own thread so we can give you individual attention
  7. dragonian

    dragonian New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    15:43
    My System
    Loading...

    Hey After a great deal off searching i found out that the explorer page that gets you in the repeater is 192.168.0.1 ....... the flyer does not state this as it is old and the new firmware has been updated to the above. :)
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
Network Help Problem with usb printer to router Tuesday at 11:43
Network Help I have a Wireless connection problem that I cannot solve. Please help. Apr 1, 2014
Network Help Konica Minolta network problem Mar 9, 2014
Network Help Problem connecting to certain services Mar 3, 2014