iexplore.exe high CPU

  1. breilly00

    breilly00 New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    22:33
    My System
    Loading...

    What has happen to my system?

    runnning Vista on a HP AMD 64X2 dual core processoer SP2.
    3G of memory.

    Have IE7 installed and when I open up a web page it uses 50% of the CPU (other 50% is idle for 2nd processer). The CPU usage goes down when the entire site has been loaded (does not matter which site I go to). I can increase the cpu usage up to 30% by just moving the scroll on my mouse up and down (do it real fast).

    I run Norton all the time and have used other free scans and none of them show any infections. iexplorer is only running once in the task manager and does not show up on start up (only when I launch it).

    I start in safe mode with no add-ons and the CPU is also High; have run defag, empty recycle bin, clean disk and CPU is still high.

    Ran hijack thsi and attached log file below.

    Attached Files:

  2. AMK

    AMK Rooted Android User Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Posts:
    819
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Dar es salaam, Tanzania
    Local time:
    00:33
    My System
    Loading...

    I am currently not in a position to help you out with "Hijack This log"..

    But I would advice you to try and "Upgrade" and or "Downgrade" the version of internet explorer..

    I am currently on a mobile phone :) when i get on the pc i'll check out the Log..

    ;)
  3. AMK

    AMK Rooted Android User Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Posts:
    819
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Dar es salaam, Tanzania
    Local time:
    00:33
    My System
    Loading...

    I have asked the Staff and or Admin(s) to Mark this Thread as Open,
    Someone more experienced especially with Hijack This Log shall assist you shortly!
    :)
  4. vger

    vger Posts: 74000 back in the VB days.... Staff Member Moderator Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    18,857
    Likes Received:
    1,744
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Local time:
    17:33
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello breilly00 and welcome to the PCHF..

    Please download and run this Process Explorer

    Then post back with that log...
  5. kbit

    kbit New Member Tech Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Posts:
    72
    Likes Received:
    11
    Local time:
    17:33
    My System
    Loading...

    sounds normal to me , most likely norton { i hate it as it has been the cause of many computers i've fixed and it misses a lot} my opinion is dump norton , upgrade to newer browser and make sure you don't have too many programs running in taskbar. i keep most programs turned off and do manual scans but to each his own. norton is a resourse hog and it most likely is just scaning webpage as it loads{ cpu down when web loads} and the same when you move mouse fast.
    nameisuser likes this.
  6. Malnutrition

    Malnutrition Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Posts:
    3,780
    Likes Received:
    832
    Local time:
    18:33
    My System
    Loading...

    It looks like you are running two antivirus applications.Having two antivirus apps is sure to slow things down.
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Authentium\AntiVirus5\vseqrts.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\Engine\18.6.0.29\ccSvcHst.exe

    You need to make a decision and use ONLY ONE.
    DCiAdmin and nameisuser like this.
  7. breilly00

    breilly00 New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    22:33
    My System
    Loading...

    Hmmmm:
    1. I only thought I had Norton; however when I tried to delete the other virus files I can only delete some of the files in the folder and do not have permission to delete all of them. So, I deleted about 15 of the files (half dozen remain and renamed the folder (program files, common files, authentium, junk) and still have 6 files left in the folder with 2 executables (vseqrts and vsedsps). I would like to get rid of this entire folder but I get a prompt that says you need permission to delete this folder.

    Is that a simple thing for me to do (I.E. give myself permission????)

    2. Also attached is the process explorer log file. I think I did it right. I downloaded the app. ran it and did a file, save as and attached it.

    Attached Files:

  8. breilly00

    breilly00 New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    22:33
    My System
    Loading...

    number 1 soved. extra virus program has beed deep-sixed
  9. nameisuser

    nameisuser Well-Known Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Posts:
    4,633
    Likes Received:
    339
    Local time:
    16:33
    My System
    Loading...

    which av is still running?
  10. Malnutrition

    Malnutrition Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Posts:
    3,780
    Likes Received:
    832
    Local time:
    18:33
    My System
    Loading...

    Are you still in need of assistance.
  11. breilly00

    breilly00 New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    22:33
    My System
    Loading...

    I am still experiencing the problem and do not know how to answer the 'which av am i running'
  12. breilly00

    breilly00 New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    22:33
    My System
    Loading...

    Opps. AV = anti-virus I guess . Norton is still running
  13. vger

    vger Posts: 74000 back in the VB days.... Staff Member Moderator Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    18,857
    Likes Received:
    1,744
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Local time:
    17:33
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello breilly00..

    I am going to send you thru our prework,you seem to have an infection..Please go to my red prework link in my sig click it...Once there just follow the instructions....
  14. breilly00

    breilly00 New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    22:33
    My System
    Loading...

    AS requested by VGER
    Summary: IExplore.exe running 100@ (actually 50%, dual core processor)
    Does not show up in task bar when initial start up
    1 instance shows up after internet launch
    going to any web page and cpu spikes to 100%
    Using scroll bar on mouse (going real fast back and forth) spikes to 100%
    Start IE with no add ons still spikes to 100%
    Start in safe mode (with network) still spikes in safe mode
    Upgaraded to IE 8 and still spikes to safe mode (put machine back to IE7)
    Running norton
    Tried in Firefox and spike goes up to 30-40%

    attached 3 requested logs.

    Attached Files:

  15. Belahzur

    Belahzur Banned

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Posts:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    102
    Local time:
    22:33
    My System
    Loading...

    Please download and run this tool.

    Download Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware from Here

    Double Click mbam-setup.exe to install the application.
    • Make sure a checkmark is placed next to Update Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware and Launch Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware, then click Finish.
    • If an update is found, it will download and install the latest version.
    • Once the program has loaded, select "Perform Quick Scan", then click Scan.
    • The scan may take some time to finish,so please be patient.
    • When the scan is complete, click OK, then Show Results to view the results.
    • Make sure that everything is checked, and click Remove Selected.
    • When disinfection is completed, a log will open in Notepad and you may be prompted to Restart. (See Note)
    • The log is automatically saved by MBAM and can be viewed by clicking the Logs tab in MBAM.
    Note:
    If MBAM encounters a file that is difficult to remove, you will be presented with 1 of 2 prompts.
    Click OK to either and let MBAM proceed with the disinfection process.
    If asked to restart the computer, please do so immediately.


    Post the contents of the MBAM Log.
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
System Security shlwapi.dll and ntdll.dll causing high CPU usage in explorer.exe Jan 20, 2014
System Security svchost.exe High Memory Usage! Jan 5, 2014
System Security Browser HighJacked by "Mysearchsocial.com" Dec 17, 2013
System Security High CPU usage on random process Sep 28, 2013