How to unlock settings in an HP Pavilion BIOS

  1. GravitySphere

    GravitySphere Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Posts:
    445
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    California
    Local time:
    13:04
    My System
    Loading...

    Hey guys so I was looking in my BIOS and apparently after contacting HP about the blasphemy I saw, they say they "don't allow the user the certain options" like disabling C1E or over clocking. Is there a way to modify the BIOS to bring these settings back? I have already updated my BIOS. The updated BIOS still is ****. Literally 90% of the BIOS I have is not settings, but showing me what is in my computer. My BIOS is the Pheonix AwardBIOS v6.00 pg 5.23 (modified by ******* HP to take away rights from the user). My mobo specs are in the drop down box.
  2. Smokeycheech

    Smokeycheech Well-Known Member Elite Member PCHF $Donator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Posts:
    6,481
    Likes Received:
    841
    Location:
    Skynet HQ (kinda near PCHF bunker)
    Local time:
    21:04
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: How to unlock settings in an HP Pavilion

    Hello Gravitysphere! Welcome back to PCHF!

    I have marked this as open to attract the attention of those who might be able to help you ;)

    Regards,

    Smokeycheech :D
  3. samuria

    samuria Network Specialist Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Posts:
    21,531
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    Crewe Uk
    Local time:
    21:04
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: How to unlock settings in an HP Pavilion

    Have you used the f11 key while in the bios is that what your mean (its F1 on some hp)
  4. matt1122

    matt1122 New Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Hoboken, NJ
    Local time:
    16:04
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: How to unlock settings in an HP Pavilion

    Chances are it's disabled in the BIOS programming and there's no way for you to undo it without flashing the BIOS with something released directly by Foxconn - and that's very risky. If it is unlockable, you'd probably have to switch a jumper on the board itself.

    Your frustration is understandable, but sadly it's not that way because HP is a communist regime. You have to remember that these machines are sold with a warranty. It'd be very risky to give the user the power to easily demolish a CPU. There is really no way to prove that a system has been overclocked, as a large enough power surge to the CPU would generally result in the exact same damage and if you really know what you're doing there's always a way to reset the flag which marks the system as having been overclocked. Unfortunately, leaving those settings enabled just isn't an option for the manufacturer.

    (Note that if you do somehow do it, it will probably void your warranty if you have one.)
  5. GravitySphere

    GravitySphere Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Posts:
    445
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    California
    Local time:
    13:04
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: How to unlock settings in an HP Pavilion

    I tried the jumper on the board-nothing. I updated my BIOS by using the flash utility-nothing. And what do you mean by "destroy the CPU." Who would do that. Some one who would over clock to the maximum setting would be too stupid to even know how to buy a computer in the first place. And how did that idiot even get into the BIOS? You see what I mean? Anyways, I am not going to O/C, but if I do only like .5GHz or less to play more intense games. So far BioShock runs perfectly on 1920x1080 max settings with factory settings so no O/C is required. I am trying to disable C1E and EIST to quiet the PSU noise (but I can't hear it while gaming, meaning the CPU is hard at work and C1E and EIST are not in operation keeping the CPU back.)

    Guys I know this may be asking too much but I have to ask; how do I hack the BIOS. What do I do to unlock these settings. I don't care if my warranty dies, I want the BIOS settings and I feel I am disrespected by HP with 2 settings in my BIOS. I would cut a part out of my mother board if I have to. I would replace the BIOS chip, or have a shop that is willing to do it modify my BIOS ship to allow these settings to be changed. Maybe I just need a new mobo alltogether, but that is expensive :mad:. I would get software online and stay up for hours doing some thing with it to make things work (that sound right?). I would be patient. I just want the settings.

    Seriously I don't care if you are afraid to tell me, just tell me. I know there is a way. A support guy at this pc fixing place said it is called tweaking the BIOS but they don't mess with that because they say they might destroy the computer. I searched google but no advice on how to "tweak the BIOS."
  6. matt1122

    matt1122 New Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Hoboken, NJ
    Local time:
    16:04
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: How to unlock settings in an HP Pavilion

    Sadly, you can't just swap out chips on the motherboard or anything like that. WMI does allow Windows to make temporary effective changes in the BIOS, and I know some people have made WMI scripts that they run on startup to make this work as if it was permanent, however I do not know how to do this and I imagine it's quite complicated and I *don't* know if it enables you to change things that are unchangeable normally.

    It's also very risky.
  7. GravitySphere

    GravitySphere Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Posts:
    445
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    California
    Local time:
    13:04
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: How to unlock settings in an HP Pavilion

    Ok where do I go for instructions. (and when I get it running I am going to take pictures of THEIR BIOS with C1E disabled and the CPU over clocked and shove the pictures down HP's ***)

    BTW nice monitor setup. That sounds hardcore.
  8. matt1122

    matt1122 New Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Hoboken, NJ
    Local time:
    16:04
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: How to unlock settings in an HP Pavilion

    You won't be able to pictures of the BIOS, as it won't actually change the CMOS as far as I know. It will temporarily change the setting while in windows.

    I have no idea where to get instructions honestly.

    And thanks.
  9. matt1122

    matt1122 New Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Hoboken, NJ
    Local time:
    16:04
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: How to unlock settings in an HP Pavilion

    I would not do this, but here is your best bet:

    Flash your motherboard with the BIOS from the Foxconn MCP73M01H1.

    BEFORE YOU DO
    make sure you have a copy of the HP BIOS on something bootable so you can reflash with the HP BIOS if things go wrong.

    It might destroy your motherboard, but hey... then you can buy a new one that isn't such a piece of ****.
    DCiAdmin likes this.
  10. GravitySphere

    GravitySphere Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Posts:
    445
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    California
    Local time:
    13:04
    My System
    Loading...

  11. matt1122

    matt1122 New Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Hoboken, NJ
    Local time:
    16:04
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: How to unlock settings in an HP Pavilion

    No, I know what you're saying. I pasted the wrong model number. What I meant was go to FoxxconSupport.com and download the firmware for the M7PMX-S. That's the closest match, and that will be another BIOS program as well.

    And yeah, flashing is easy. It's if you flash with the wrong firmware that you have a problem, and the M7PMX-S firmware might be the wrong firmware.
  12. georgeks

    georgeks Moderator Staff Member Moderator Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    4,562
    Likes Received:
    700
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Local time:
    22:04
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: How to unlock settings in an HP Pavilion

    Hi
    Sorry for jumping in matt122, I was watching that thread and seriously, enjoyed-in a VERY GOOD SENSE-your comments. Technical knowledge combine with judgment is in short supply these days...

    GravitySphere, big OEMs have problems persuading their customers to apply Windows Updates, do you think they will trust them with the ability to overclock-and potentially-destroy their systems?

    Your system has an nforce chipset. Have you tried if the NVIDIA System Tools and their CPU AND GPU overclocking features apply in your system?
    matt1122 likes this.
  13. samuria

    samuria Network Specialist Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Posts:
    21,531
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    Crewe Uk
    Local time:
    21:04
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: How to unlock settings in an HP Pavilion

    If you really want to hack the bios then all you have to do is open a cmd prompt and type debug and away you go that will get you straight in to the bios. Try bios agent
  14. GravitySphere

    GravitySphere Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Posts:
    445
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    California
    Local time:
    13:04
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: How to unlock settings in an HP Pavilion

    How do I use debug?
  15. GravitySphere

    GravitySphere Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Posts:
    445
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    California
    Local time:
    13:04
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: How to unlock settings in an HP Pavilion

    I checked and the M7PMX-S is not my model. The website does not have my model.

    EDIT: I see what you are saying. You want me to flash my BIOS with firmware made for a different motherboard? The M7PMX-S motherboard has two PCI slots, one PCI-E x16, and one PCI-E x1. I have two PCI-E x1, one PCI, and one PCI-E x16. That WON'T work out in my opion, but would it work? Every thing else looks right though, including the LGA755 socket, support for Pentium Dual Core to Core 2 Cuad, and same chipset. If I try this, would there be a way to go back if every thing screws up? How is the BIOS supposed to say "hey, there is only one PCI slot here! Hey, why is there two PCI-E x1 slots!" and go along with it?

    The main point for me is not to O/C. I have CCC for my 4770 and also have nTune but I still want CPU options in the BIOS. What I really want is to disable C1E and EIST, options not found in my BIOS.
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
Software Support How to unlock BIOS setting or flash a modded one? Jan 5, 2014
Software Support Unlocking help need Nokia N95 Sep 25, 2009
Software Support Unlocking Help Sep 24, 2009
Software Support MoveOnBoot & Unlocker File Deletion Tools Oct 17, 2006