Force logoff in Windows 7??

  1. srose24

    srose24 Member Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Posts:
    193
    Likes Received:
    5
    Local time:
    23:35
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello and Happy New Year to everyone!!

    Quick question... Does anyone know a way to force a user logoff in Windows 7? I know in XP, you could enter the admin username/password and force the logoff. I've yet to be able to accomplish this in Windows 7, which could be a big problem... I've done some searching, and surprisingly, I wasn't able to find much on the subject.

    Any ideas??

    Thanks,
    Scott
     
  2. Capt.Jack Sparrow

    Capt.Jack Sparrow Well-Known Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Posts:
    2,536
    Likes Received:
    393
    Local time:
    05:35
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello Scott and Welcome back !

    One of our excellent Tech staff will be assisting you shortly. I have marked this thread Open to attract more Tech Members.

    Thank You for your patience :)
     
  3. samuria

    samuria Network Specialist Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Posts:
    22,070
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Local time:
    05:35
    My System
    Loading...

    What do you want to do force a user to log off and shut down or log off and leave the pc up and running? Is this if and when required or at specific times. If its at certain times then a policy will do that
     
  4. srose24

    srose24 Member Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Posts:
    193
    Likes Received:
    5
    Local time:
    23:35
    My System
    Loading...

    Bascially what it comes down to is that sometimes if myself or another in my department needs access to a system where another user is logged in, in XP, we can just enter the admin username/password and force the logoff of the user. I've not been able to find a way to do this in Windows 7 yet. There is no specific time or timeframe of inactivity, it's just one of those things that is usually very random and if/when it needs to be done we are usually in front of the system at the time and need access as soon as possible. I really don't want to have to do a hard shutdown everytime this needs to be done, that would not be a good thing...

    Let me know if you have any other questions.

    Scott
     
  5. samuria

    samuria Network Specialist Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Posts:
    22,070
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Local time:
    05:35
    My System
    Loading...

    Is the pc locked by the user? You can force a log off from another pc

    Bob logs onto his workstation and you (who are on another workstation) want to force Bob to log off. How can you do that? You could do it using Computer Management. Open Computer Management on your machine and connect to Bob's computer, then right-click on Bob's computer and select Properties. Switch to the Advanced tab, and click Settings under Startup And Recovery options. Now go to Shutdown and under Action click Log Off Current User and then OK.



    If you have fast user switching you should be able to log on to the pc anyway then kill the user if needed via taskmanager.


    Is this on a domain
     
  6. srose24

    srose24 Member Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Posts:
    193
    Likes Received:
    5
    Local time:
    23:35
    My System
    Loading...

    Yes, in the case it would be needed, the pc would be locked by the user. It's not always practical to log them off from another pc. I'm trying to see if there is a way to force someone off in the way that you can force them off in XP. By simply logging in over top of them with an admin account. Fast user switching is not an option as we have it disabled via Group Policy.

    Yes, it's on our work domain.
     
  7. samuria

    samuria Network Specialist Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Posts:
    22,070
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Local time:
    05:35
    My System
    Loading...

    Looking around at the problem on MS Forum's etc no one seems to have an answer to this other than remote log off
     
  8. srose24

    srose24 Member Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Posts:
    193
    Likes Received:
    5
    Local time:
    23:35
    My System
    Loading...

    Ugh... I was afraid of that as I haven't been able to find a way around it either. Please let me know if you end up finding anything, I'll keep checking as well.

    Regards,
    Scott
     
  9. zigzag3143

    zigzag3143 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Posts:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    00:35
    My System
    Loading...

    This thread has expired and is now Closed.
    If you have a similar issue, please open a new thread in the appropriate forum.

    If you feel this is in error feel free to Pm me as to why.

    Ken J