Display driver AMD driver has stopped working

Solved
  1. bnnaman

    bnnaman New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Posts:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    20:03
    My System
    Loading...

    Greetings good people of PCHelpForum.

    I'm in need of your assistance. Recently I switched from 1.5 GB of DDR RAM to 2 GB of DDR2 RAM memory. After doing so I started getting this error: Display driver AMD driver has stopped working and has successfully recovered. It only happens while playing games. I checked the temperature of the GPU and it doesn't go above 65°C. I tried reinstalling windows and that didn't help either. I've got the latest ATI drivers installed and all. My question: how the hell do I fix this problem???

    My system specs:

    Generic PnP Monitor

    Thanks!

    EDIT: Don't know if it helps anything but the HW Monitor says the +3.3V voltage is at 3.04V which kinda too low
  2. Clever_Duck

    Clever_Duck Well-Known Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Posts:
    1,745
    Likes Received:
    121
    Local time:
    20:03
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: Display driver AMD driver has stopped wor

    Hello and welcome back to PCHF,

    I'll mark this thread open so it attracts our highly skilled tech staff.

    Regards,

    Clever_Duck :)
  3. pupuplader

    pupuplader Well-Known Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Posts:
    2,938
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Mountains of Colorado
    Local time:
    13:03
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: Display driver AMD driver has stopped wor

    What power supply do you have. You will have to open the side of the case and on the side of the psu there will be a sticker with all the info for make and model number.

    Regards,
    Pupuplader
  4. bnnaman

    bnnaman New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Posts:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    20:03
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: Display driver AMD driver has stopped wor

    It's a Chieftec GPS-450AA-101A. Max. power 450W.

    Also, here's a better description of the problem:
    While playing a game the screen freezes and nothing happens for a few seconds. Then, after some 10-20 seconds the screen either turns black and the computer completely freezes or I can alt-tab to the desktop where I get the above mentioned error. I also noticed one thing: the lower the graphics are set to, the longer it takes for the error to appear, if it appears at all.

    Also I'm terribly sorry for the late reply!
  5. Tubes

    Tubes New Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Posts:
    969
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Normanton, West Yorkshire
    Local time:
    20:03
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: Display driver AMD driver has stopped wor

    Are you sure you didnt accidently knock the gfx card while fitting the memory and its become loose or the power supply isn't connected properly?

    Just a thought
  6. bnnaman

    bnnaman New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Posts:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    20:03
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: Display driver AMD driver has stopped wor

    I checked it, I'm pretty sure it's all connected as it should be
  7. bnnaman

    bnnaman New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Posts:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    20:03
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: Display driver AMD driver has stopped wor

    I read about a couple of cases where people had to overclock their graphics cards for the problem to be solved. Now since I'm not experienced at this computer stuff I'd like to ask you people what you think about that? Is it safe to try out or should I look for another answer?

    My graphics card settings are (in ATI overdrive):

    High performance GPU clock settings - 650 MHz
    High performance Memory clock settings - 400 MHz
    Fan speed - 100%
  8. pupuplader

    pupuplader Well-Known Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Posts:
    2,938
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Mountains of Colorado
    Local time:
    13:03
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: Display driver AMD driver has stopped wor

    For overclocking you want to be very careful of your temperatures. I have seen where overclocking has helped in the past.

    However lets do something else first. If you could reset the CMOS by unplug the power cord for the computer and then use the proper jumper pins (refer to your motherboard manual) and reset the the CMOS. Leave the jumper for 5-10sec then put it back in the original position and turn the computer on.

    If you could also follow this tutorial to make sure that you have the driver properly installed.

    How to do a clean graphics driver install.

    Let me know how that works?
    Pupuplader
  9. bnnaman

    bnnaman New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Posts:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    20:03
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: Display driver AMD driver has stopped wor

    Okay, so I tried to reset the CMOS and when I turned the PC on again, I got a message I have to set the date/time and after I did that, the screen just turned black with only a blinking " _ " sign on it and it won't go further than that.. What now ?

    Also, sorry for the late reply again
  10. pupuplader

    pupuplader Well-Known Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Posts:
    2,938
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Mountains of Colorado
    Local time:
    13:03
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: Display driver AMD driver has stopped wor

    Are you able to enter the bios? Do you get a POST screen? Did you reset the CMOS by the jumper pin, if so did you put the pin back to the off position?

    Do the fans turn on?
  11. bnnaman

    bnnaman New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Posts:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    20:03
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: Display driver AMD driver has stopped wor

    I can enter the BIOS, but the screen goes black at the point where Windows should start loading. I reset the CMOS by taking the jumper of something called PS2_USB_PWR1 jumper as I taught it wouldn't do any harm ( guess I was wrong :S ). I did return it to it's original place. And yes the fans do turn on.

    EDIT : I also tried running Ubuntu of a CD and it works just fine
  12. pupuplader

    pupuplader Well-Known Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Posts:
    2,938
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Mountains of Colorado
    Local time:
    13:03
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: Display driver AMD driver has stopped wor

    ftp://174.142.97.10/manual/4CoreDual-SATA2.pdf

    Look at page 11. #19 is correct jumper - Clear CMOS Jumper (CLRCMOS1)

    When in the bios you should have an option to load defaults, do so and let me know how it works out.
  13. bnnaman

    bnnaman New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Posts:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    20:03
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: Display driver AMD driver has stopped wor

    I did use that one, but there was no pin on it, so I took the pin of the above mentioned slot and returned it to it's original place.

    There was a Load Optimal Defaults option in the BIOS. Tried it but no luck

    EDIT: I re-installed windows and it's working, but the original problem is still there.

    EDIT once again: I think I found the problem - my mobo supports only 667 and 533 DDR2 memory, and the one I bought is 800 :/. But than again, after doing a little searching on the internet I found out that it doesn't really matter since the memory will automatically slow down to a compatible speed. I also tried changing the RAM speed in the BIOS to 667 and 533 but that didn't help either
  14. pupuplader

    pupuplader Well-Known Member Tech Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Posts:
    2,938
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Mountains of Colorado
    Local time:
    13:03
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: Display driver AMD driver has stopped wor

    Do you still have the original ram? If so put it in and see if you get any problems.

    You are correct that it would just run at the slower speed. However motherboards can be very fickle about the type and speed the the ram that you use. In some cases it just wont work.

    What is the model number on the 800Mhz ram? Did you set the timings and CL also? If not you should set it all manually. When you set the ram to 800 did you change the FSB or the ratio? Here is a nice guide into overclocking:
    How-to overclock - Geeks to Go Forums
  15. bnnaman

    bnnaman New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Posts:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    20:03
    My System
    Loading...

    Re: Display driver AMD driver has stopped wor

    The only thing I did was set RAM speed from Auto to 667 and later 533. I haven't changed anything else. And could you please clarify a bit what you mean by changing timings and CL and how to do that? I read the link you posted but I'm still struggling to understand that stuff.

    Oh and the RAM I bought is G-SKILL Standard series, F2-6400CL5S-2GBNT , PC-6400 , DDR2 800 MHz
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
Windows 7 and Vista BSOD BSOD - AMD Display driver failed and recovered. Mar 3, 2014
Windows 7 and Vista BSOD Random BSOD looks like display drivers Mar 2, 2014
Windows 7 and Vista BSOD Display Driver Stopped Responding and has Recovered and BSOD Feb 13, 2014
Windows 7 and Vista BSOD BSOD - Display Driver could not reset - Win 7. Dump files inc. Aug 15, 2013