Dell- no del factory image restore point- need to reformat!

  1. veganhs

    veganhs New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    15:20
    My System
    Loading...

    Long story (in detail below) short: I think I need to reformat my dell studio 14z and when I go to dell factory image restore... there are no restore points. This leads me to no option of restoring to factory settings. Someone please help me!!

    Hi, I have had my dell studio 14z for almost 3 years. It runs great (besides the 6 cell battery is going), but lately I've been getting the warning: low disc space: you are running low on disc space on recovery D: I have 14.6gb used, 42.5 mb free. This just happened recently. The only thing I've downloaded lately was when I was taking a test on firefox, I had to switch over to internet explorer and update java. I've since then uninstalled java but that didn't do anything. So maybe it wasn't the java that saved to D: but I don't download games, tv shows ,movies, or anything like that so I don't know what it could have been.
    Staples looked at it and said something was saved to D: disc that wasn't supposed to. I can't refrag, I've tried disc clean up which is the recycle bin of 0 files... I've tried everything. I tried to do a system restore point with C: drive but that didn't help. There are no D: drive restore points.. so I decided to back up all my files and do a reformat. So I went to do dell factory image restore but there are no image restore points. none. I now can't do the image restore.
    When I got the computer I turned it on and it was loading and I noticed a scratch on the computer so I hard shut down while it was loading because I didn't want to do anything to the computer in case they wouldn't exchange it. I returned it because of the scratch, got another one with a dent , so I settled for the first one with the scratch. Started up again and it was fine. This is the only thing that makes me think that since I did a hard shut down on the initial boot up of the brand new computer, that it didn't restore a factory image restore point..?? But maybe I don't know what I'm talking about.
    The computer runs fine, it's just that annoying D: drive alert. I'd rather just start fresh anyways since I have everything backed up and maybe it'll make my computer run smoother starting fresh.
    What are my options?
    I don't have an internal disc drive but I have an external drive. The CDs that came with the dell are:
    "operating system"-reinstallation DVD, Windows vista home premium 64bit SP1
    dell drivers and utilities for reinstalling dell studio 14z computer software
    microsoft office 2007

    What do you think I should do? Any advice would be helpful.
    THANKS!!
  2. samuria

    samuria Network Specialist Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Posts:
    21,531
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    Crewe Uk
    Local time:
    20:20
    My System
    Loading...

    Welcome to the forum. Can you actual see drive d: ok if so can you show us what folders are on there it may just want some files removing we have some Dell techs on the forum so they should be able to help you
  3. Antman

    Antman Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Posts:
    2,122
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Lansdowne, Virginia
    Local time:
    15:20
    My System
    Loading...

    In a manner of speaking, you are reporting that your laptop works fine with one exception - a drive that you are not "supposed" to use is full.

    The D: drive is your recovery partition - a special disk area where Dell stores a factory image for system restore. It appears that that image is gone, but it may not be. That is beside the point.

    The scratch has nothing do with anything. It is a scratch.

    The hard shutdown has nothing to do with anything. The D: Recovery Partition was created at the factory. It was not used or created when you first powered on your laptop.

    You could disable Low Disk Space warnings via the registry -
    http://www.addictivetips.com/window...-space-notification-alert-in-windows-7-vista/

    You could disable the prompt only -
    http://brainwreckedtech.wordpress.c...ace-warnings-in-windows-vista-7/#comment-1292

    You could format the D drive (I would not - I suspect your factory image is still there)

    You could delete the D partition (I would not - I suspect your factory image is still there)

    You could proceed with your idea of re-installing everything via DVD set.
  4. Antman

    Antman Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Posts:
    2,122
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Lansdowne, Virginia
    Local time:
    15:20
    My System
    Loading...

    I forgot to address something.

    At some point in time, you told your browser(s) to use the D drive as a download location. Use your browser(s) options screen to revert back to a folder on the C drive OR simply download something and navigate to a folder on the C drive. Under normal conditions, a browser will save the last used folder as the default location for future downloads.
  5. Antman

    Antman Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Posts:
    2,122
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Lansdowne, Virginia
    Local time:
    15:20
    My System
    Loading...

    Opinion follows. Never go back to Staples for computer help. The tech staff there are general retail clerks who can spell PC.
    Lord Chance likes this.
  6. Dell-Saurabh A

    Dell-Saurabh A Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Posts:
    47
    Likes Received:
    7
    Local time:
    00:50
    My System
    Loading...

    Hi veganhs,

    My name is Saurabh and I work with the Social Media and Community team at Dell.
    Thank you samuria, for your confidence in us. It has been a pleasure posting on pchelpforum. Would be glad to help.

    Technically, there is a possibility of the factory image not working, however I agree with Antman’s statement that the factory image may still be there on the D drive. Even if you downloaded something on the d drive, doesn’t mean that it impacts the existing image.

    Veganhs, I see that you have mentioned about attempting the “Dell Image Factory Restore”. Please follow the steps mentioned below to access the factory image:
    • Tap F8 key repeatedly immediately after turning the computer back on. This will take you to the “Advance Boot Options Menu”.
    • Select “Repair my computer” and hit “Enter key”. Mouse doesn’t work on this screen. So, kindly make use of the up & down arrow keys to navigate.
    • Enter the windows password to access the recovery options.
    • You will find the “Dell Factory Image Restore” as the last option. This is where you access the factory image from. Please follow the steps to see if that works.
  7. Dell-ravi k

    Dell-ravi k New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local time:
    00:50
    My System
    Loading...

    Hi veganhs,
    My name is Ravi and I work for the Social Media and Community Team at Dell.

    The D: drive is your recovery partition where Dell stores a factory image for restoring it to factory settings. The error message that you are receiving which says D: drive full indicates that windows is storing back up in that folder.

    I would suggest you to please browse to D: drive and open your user account and check the files stored over there. You can delete the windows back up from that folder and that should resolve the issue. However, you would need to change the automatic windows back up settings destination folder so that next time it does not store the back up in that folder. You can change the destination to a USB external hard drive if you have one or you can disable the automatic windows back up feature from control panel.


    Thanks & Regards
    Dell_Ravi_K
    Dell Social Media Responder
    You can reach us at:
    http://en.community.dell.com/
    http://www.facebook.com/Dell
    https://twitter.com/DellCares
  8. madmatt2006

    madmatt2006 Well-Known Member Elite Member PCHF $Donator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Posts:
    5,250
    Likes Received:
    307
    Location:
    Shepparton
    Local time:
    04:50
    My System
    Loading...

    If all else fails why not use the "operating system"-reinstallation DVD, Windows vista home premium 64bit SP1 you mention and boot off your external drive. :) you lucky you have these I get loads of them at my repair shop with no restore dvd and a stufffed recovery partition. also since you have the restore dvd, if you dont loose it you could take out the recovery partition and make it extra space!

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-vista/Installing-and-reinstalling-Windows-Vista

    1. Turn on your computer, insert the Windows installation disc into the computer's DVD or CD drive, and then do one of the following:
      • If your computer already has an operating system installed, and if you do not want to create, extend, delete, or format partitions, go to step 2.
      • If your computer does not have an operating system installed or if you want to create, extend, delete, or format partitions, you need to restart your computer with the installation disc inserted in your CD or DVD drive. This will cause your computer to start (or "boot") from the installation CD or DVD. If you are asked to press a key to boot from DVD or CD, press any key. If the Install Windows page appears, go to step 2.
        If the Install Windows page does not appear and you're not asked to press a key to start from DVD or CD, you might have to specify that your computer use its DVD or CD drive as the startup device. This means that you need to set the DVD or CD drive to be the first startup device in the basic input/output system (BIOS). To learn how to do this, see Start Windows from a CD or DVD. After you select your DVD or CD drive as the startup device, restart your computer, and then start Windows from the installation DVD or CD as previously described.
    2. On the Install Windows page, follow any instructions that are displayed, and then click Install now.
    3. On the Get important updates for installation page, we recommend getting the latest updates to help ensure a successful installation and to help protect your computer against security threats. You will need an Internet connection to get installation updates.
    4. On the Type your product key for activation page, we strongly recommend that you type your 25-character product key to help avoid problems during activation.
      [​IMG]
      Note

      If you have an upgrade copy of a 32-bit version of Windows Vista, you will see a message telling you to restart your computer and start Windows installation from within your existing operating system.
    5. On the Please read the license terms page, if you accept the license terms, click I accept the license terms.
    6. On the Which type of installation do you want? page, click Custom.
      [​IMG]
      Note

      After you click Custom, if you have an upgrade copy of a 64-bit version of Windows Vista and do not have a version of Windows that can be upgraded, the installation cannot continue. You will need to install a copy of Windows 2000 or Windows XP to proceed with this installation method.
    7. On the Where do you want to install Windows? page, select where you want to install Windows.
      • If you don't partition your hard disk, click Next. The installation will start automatically. You might see a compatibility report that lists which programs and software drivers won't work after the installation. You can resolve any issues after the installation is complete.
      • If you have an existing partition and want to have more than one operating system on the same computer, you can install Windows on a specific partition. (This is called a dual-boot or multiboot configuration.) If you do this, be sure to install Windows on a different partition from the partition where your current version of Windows is installed. To install Windows on an existing partition, select the partition you want to use, and then click Next to begin the installation. You might see a compatibility report.
      • If you want to create, extend, delete, or format a partition, you must start Windows from the installation DVD or CD. If you did not begin the installation process this way, follow the instructions for starting Windows from the installation DVD or CD that appear in the first step of this procedure, and then follow the instructions on each screen. On the Where do you want to install Windows? page, click Drive options (advanced), click the option you want, and then follow the instructions. Click Next to begin the installation. You might see a compatibility report.
    8. Follow the instructions.
    [​IMG]
    Note

    Be sure to enable existing, or install new, antivirus software after the installation is complete.



    P.S other option is to use another PC to make a bootable USB drive with your "operating system"-reinstallation DVD, Windows vista home premium 64bit SP1 you mention, and reinstall off that.
  9. veganhs

    veganhs New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    15:20
    My System
    Loading...

    hi, thank you!

    folders:
    tools
    DELL
    Program Files
    Windows
    sources
    ProgramData
    users
  10. veganhs

    veganhs New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    15:20
    My System
    Loading...

    Hi thanks for your quick reply. I did the above steps and when it got to dell factory image restore.. it said to pick a restore point and there were none. no dates. so i couldn't continue to do the image restore. Why do you think there were no restore dates?
  11. veganhs

    veganhs New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    15:20
    My System
    Loading...

    Hi, thanks for your quick response. Few questions..


    Whats the difference between disable the warning via the registry or disable the prompt only
    What would formatting the D drive do? I know I can't defrag the drive.
    How come when I went into safe mode and repair system- factory image restore and there were no dates, why do you think there were no dates listed?
    Do you know what the normal used disc space on the D drive on a healthy running (dell) computer?
    When I went to staples they opened up something and showed that my computer was 0% healthy. I’m thinking that was a lie.
  12. Antman

    Antman Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Posts:
    2,122
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Lansdowne, Virginia
    Local time:
    15:20
    My System
    Loading...

    Staples first - Anyone who brings you a problem without also bringing you a solution should be dismissed.

    Disabling the warning actually disables the check (the test to see if disk space is low). Disabling the prompt maintains the check but does not advise of the result.

    On a healthy Dell PC, with Windows in its default configuration and in daily use, you would not see the D: drive.

    You seem to be confusing some terms. A factory image does not have a 'date' per se. It is a static image - never modified, never changed - and the user has limited control of it. You can delete it, but you cannot change it.. A System Restore Point is a smaller set of data used to revert Windows to an earlier condition. These restore points are created on a configurable basis - or not all. The user has control over these.

    System restore points are accessed through a Windows menu. The Dell factory image is accessed during boot up (press F12 to select boot options). The Dell image may be accessed other ways - idk, I loathe Dell.

    Your response to Samurai is of some concern. You report that the D: drive contains a folder structure that we expect to see on C:, not D.
  13. veganhs

    veganhs New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    15:20
    My System
    Loading...

    so a healthy dell pc would not see the D drive even when windows explorer is opened?
    which folders that i posted on samurai's post should be on C , not D? I can list the files in those particular folders that you think are in the wrong place. that is, if you can help me with that.
    also i know about the difference between restore points and factory image. (i've done restore points before) there was a window that came up that shows the restore options of restoring points on drive C (which was checked) and the D drive restore (see posted photo) should I be restoring drive D? Or is it not even an option because windows is not on that drive (i am taking a guess here, may be totally wrong) when it says, restoring other drives is optional makes me wonder what to do. screen shot.jpg
  14. veganhs

    veganhs New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    15:20
    My System
    Loading...


    i need some help disabling the prompt. i followed the directions then got up to Create a reg file with the following contents, and save it anywhere. what is a reg file? next- how do i open Registry Editor’s File. final question- do i need to download Sushi’s DriveInfo Gadget Fixed By Switch. ? Can't I keep tabs of the free disk space just by opening windows explorer and then looking at drive d's properties. thank you!!
  15. samuria

    samuria Network Specialist Elite Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Posts:
    21,531
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    Crewe Uk
    Local time:
    20:20
    My System
    Loading...

    Can we check something first open a cmd prompt the type

    set >set.txt
    notepad set.txt

    post the results this should tell us if d: is actual being used by windows
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
Laptop Support Factory Restore Boot Loop Mar 19, 2014
Laptop Support Restore 2 laptops to factory settings Jan 22, 2014
Laptop Support factory settings help - zv6100 Aug 28, 2013
Laptop Support Does Reseting Laptop to Factory Settings Format the Hard Disk? Jun 12, 2013