Computer randomly shuts down and reboots

Solved
  1. Mo Reece

    Mo Reece New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    11:16
    My System
    Loading...

    Since a couple of months my computer reboots or shuts itself down at random intervals. When it shuts itself off, I can only turn it back on when I turn off the power supply unit for a minute or so. There are no (visible) blue screens and the event logs don't show anything of use. An event with ID 41 and Kernel-Power as source (and level Critical) is logged at every reboot or shutdown, but it doesn't give any useful info.

    I unchecked "reboot at system failure" so I could see the bsod's, but that didn't work, it reboots anyway. The rebooting and shutting down happens totally randomly, sometimes ten times a day, sometimes once in three days. It happens when I do video editing, surfing or when I'm just sitting in my couch, three meters away from the computer.

    Things already checked/done:
    • It's not overheating
    • memtest did not show any errors
    • the motherboard (Gigabit) has been replaced
    • the power supply unit has been replaced
    • the graphics card has been replaced
    • the front usb-ports have been disconnected
    • BIOS has been run in fail-safe and optimized mode
    • BIOS has been updated
    • all external devices were unplugged
    • the computer has been connected to a different electric circuit
    • all drivers have been checked and updated

    The computer is now 2 years old and the problem started when using Windows XP and persisted after a clean install of Windows 7 (32 bit). Processor is an AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 6000+ at 3 GHz.

    Also, when the computer reboots, the usb keyboard doesn't work until Windows is started. I can access the BIOS by pressing DEL, but the keyboard doesn't work once inside the BIOS. When I get the options to start safe mode or regular Windows, the keyboard doesn't work. PS/2 keyboard does work during the whole restart business.

    I had a whole list of possible options that cause the problem, but the only thing left on my list is 'aliens'...
  2. driver_ian

    driver_ian Security Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Plymouth, England
    Local time:
    10:16
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello Mo Reece, and welcome to the forum
    I've marked your thread as Open to encourage a response from the Techs and talented forum members amongst us..

    Thanks for your patience :mrgreen:
  3. JMH

    JMH Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Posts:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    22:16
    My System
    Loading...

    Hi Mo and welcome

    Event ID 41 is kernel mode and usually a driver. I would therefore suggest you run driver verifier. If the problem has peristed across multiple OS'es it is most likely hardware.

    Beyond that, please run Verifier with these settings:


    Let us know if you need help

    Jan

  4. Mo Reece

    Mo Reece New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    11:16
    My System
    Loading...

    Hey guys, thanks for the quick reply and warm welcome. I ran Verifier with the mentioned settings and I got a BSOD right after the black Starting Windows screen in 7. The screen went ugly and *BAM*, BSOD.

    The message read

    SPECIAL_POOL_DETECTED_MEMORY_CORRUPTION

    Technical information:
    ***STOP: 0x000000C1 (0x8FDEAF90, 0x8FDEAFFC, 0x00EB4070, 0x00000024)


    I zipped and attached the created minidump-file to this message, I hope someone can figure it out :) This was the only minidump in the directory, by the way. All the other "regular" crashes did not result in minidumps.

    Attached Files:

  5. JMH

    JMH Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Posts:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    22:16
    My System
    Loading...


    Mo Reece


    Unfortunately the DMP file you uploaded was corrupt and far too small to be usable. Can you search for "DMP" files and see if they are, perhaps, being stored somewhere else.

    If you cant find any others you may need to configure your system control panel like the snip that I have attached.

    The panel is located in control panels>system>advanced system>start up and recovery>advanced>etc.

    After configuring the control panel that ways wait for the next BSOD and upload like the enclosed instructions

    If you wish to have others assist you with your computer's BSOD symptoms, upload the contents of your "\Windows\Minidump" folder. The procedure:

    * Copy the contents of \Windows\Minidump to another (temporary) location somewhere on your machine.
    * Zip up the copy.
    * Start your own thread in the appropriate section of the forum and attach the ZIP archive to your post using the "paperclip" (file attachments) button.
    * Briefly describe the problem history and circumstances in the same post. Somebody will attend to your query as soon as possible.

    Let us know if you need further assistance

    Jan




    zigzag3143 likes this.
  6. Mo Reece

    Mo Reece New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    11:16
    My System
    Loading...

    Hi Jan

    I found one other DMP-file, the MEMORY.DMP in the Windows directory. I've zipped it and uploaded it to http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4832845/MEMORY.zip (42,5 MB).

    I also reconfigured my system like in your snip, the only difference was that Overwrite any existing file was not unchecked yet. So the Automatically restart was already unchecked, but that obviously didn't stop my computer from rebooting :)

    I didn't have the time yet to run verifier.exe again with those new settings, but I'll try that asap and hope it will result in some usable minidumps.
  7. zigzag3143

    zigzag3143 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Posts:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Local time:
    05:16
    My System
    Loading...


    Hi Mo Reece and welcome


    This crash was caused by your avid diginet.sys driver. There is very little information both in the DMP and in google about the process or its updates.


    diginet
    .sys. Author igidesign, A Division of Avid... Production:pro Tools? Version: 7.3.0.117. File Size:11776byte.

    Since there is so little information on it I would say un-install it. I cant even get the date on the drivers because your OS is "NON STANDARD".


    I would first go here
    Genuine Microsoft Software and re-validate your OS to ensure it is Genuine. If it is not you need to purchase a real legit key to install.


    I would then run a system file check

    SFC /SCANNOW Command - System File Checker - Windows 7 Forums




    Your DMP is returning non standard dates and times (no symbols) for key system files. I wondered where you downloaded the OS from? Did you purchase it directly from MS, or download it from somewhere else?



    Let us know if you need further assistance

    Ken J

    Analysis
    Code:
    
    Microsoft (R) Windows Debugger Version 6.11.0001.404 X86
    Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    
    
    Loading Dump File [C:\Users\K\Desktop\MEMORY.DMP]
    Kernel Summary Dump File: Only kernel address space is available
    
    WARNING: Whitespace at end of path element
    Symbol search path is: SRV*C:\symbols;*http://msdl.microsoft.com/download/symbols ;srv*e:\symbols
    *http://msdl.microsoft.com/download/symbols
    Executable search path is: 
    ***[COLOR=Red] ERROR: Symbol file could not be found.  Defaulted to export symbols for ntkrpamp.exe [/COLOR]- 
    [COLOR=Red]Windows 7 Kernel Version 7600 MP (2 procs) Free x86 compatible
    Product: WinNt, suite: TerminalServer SingleUserTS
    Built by: 7600.16617.x86fre.win7_gdr.100618-1621[/COLOR]
    Machine Name:
    Kernel base = 0x82e47000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0x82f8f810
    Debug session time: Wed Sep 22 16:41:54.929 2010 (GMT-4)
    System Uptime: 0 days 0:00:25.708
    *** ERROR: Symbol file could not be found.  Defaulted to export symbols for ntkrpamp.exe - 
    Loading Kernel Symbols
    ...............................................................
    ................................................................
    .............
    Loading User Symbols
    
    Loading unloaded module list
    ....
    1: kd> !analyze -v
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    [COLOR=Red]
    SPECIAL_POOL_DETECTED_MEMORY_CORRUPTION (c1)
    Special pool has detected memory corruption.[/COLOR]  Typically the current thread's
    stack backtrace will reveal the guilty party.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: 870d4f90, address trying to free
    Arg2: 870d4ffc, address where bits are corrupted
    Arg3: 006f4070, (reserved)
    Arg4: 00000024, caller is freeing an address where bytes after the end of the allocation have been overwritten
    
    Debugging Details:
    ------------------
    
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for diginet.sys
    ***** Kernel symbols are WRONG. Please fix symbols to do analysis.
    
    *************************************************************************
    ***                                                                   ***
    ***                                                                   ***
    ***    Your debugger is not using the correct symbols                 ***
    ***                                                                   ***
    ***    In order for this command to work properly, your symbol path   ***
    ***    must point to .pdb files that have full type information.      ***
    ***                                                                   ***
    ***    Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not      ***
    ***    contain the required information.  Contact the group that      ***
    ***    provided you with these symbols if you need this command to    ***
    ***    work.                                                          ***
    ***                                                                   ***
    ***    Type referenced: nt!_KPRCB                                     ***
    ***                                                                   ***
    *************************************************************************
    *************************************************************************
    ***                                                                   ***
    ***                                                                   ***
    ***    Your debugger is not using the correct symbols                 ***
    ***                                                                   ***
    ***    In order for this command to work properly, your symbol path   ***
    ***    must point to .pdb files that have full type information.      ***
    ***                                                                   ***
    ***    Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not      ***
    ***    contain the required information.  Contact the group that      ***
    ***    provided you with these symbols if you need this command to    ***
    ***    work.                                                          ***
    ***                                                                   ***
    ***    Type referenced: nt!_KPRCB                                     ***
    ***                                                                   ***
    *************************************************************************
    *************************************************************************
    ***                                                                   ***
    ***                                                                   ***
    ***    Your debugger is not using the correct symbols                 ***
    ***                                                                   ***
    ***    In order for this command to work properly, your symbol path   ***
    ***    must point to .pdb files that have full type information.      ***
    ***                                                                   ***
    ***    Certain .pdb files (such as the public OS symbols) do not      ***
    ***    contain the required information.  Contact the group that      ***
    ***    provided you with these symbols if you need this command to    ***
    ***    work.                                                          ***
    ***                                                                   ***
    ***    Type referenced: nt!_KPRCB                                     ***
    ***                                                                   ***
    *************************************************************************
    
    ADDITIONAL_DEBUG_TEXT:  
    Use '!findthebuild' command to search for the target build information.
    If the build information is available, run '!findthebuild -s ; .reload' to set symbol path and load symbols.
    
    MODULE_NAME: diginet
    
    FAULTING_MODULE: 82e47000 nt
    
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  4c18905f
    
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0xC1_24
    
    SPECIAL_POOL_CORRUPTION_TYPE:  24
    
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
    
    CURRENT_IRQL:  0
    
    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from 82f2dae5 to 82f23d10
    
    STACK_TEXT:  
    WARNING: Stack unwind information not available. Following frames may be wrong.
    87fc59cc 82f2dae5 000000c1 870d4f90 870d4ffc nt!KeBugCheckEx+0x1e
    87fc5abc 82f660db 870d4f90 00000000 870d4f90 nt!MmTrimAllSystemPagableMemory+0x14e2
    87fc5b24 83177f90 870d4f90 00000000 8251c598 nt!ExFreePoolWithTag+0xd6
    87fc5b38 962ef38e 870d4f90 00000000 90f0ee68 nt!PoSetHiberRange+0xa305
    87fc5b74 858e7b82 87fc5c04 87fc5b9c 87c74f8c diginet+0x138e
    87fc5c0c 858e7642 8b1b90e0 8adbf030 83181337 ndis!ndisInitializeBinding+0x255
    87fc5c9c 858ef41a 8b1b90e0 90f0ee68 00000000 ndis!ndisCheckAdapterBindings+0x155
    87fc5d34 858806da 00f0ee68 00000000 8b0e3d48 ndis!ndisCheckProtocolBindings+0x128
    87fc5d50 830556d3 00000000 afe2e0cd 00000000 ndis!ndisWorkerThread+0xa4
    87fc5d90 82f070f9 85880636 00000000 00000000 nt!PsCreateSystemThread+0x19a
    00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 nt!wcsupr+0x14a
    
    
    STACK_COMMAND:  kb
    
    FOLLOWUP_IP: 
    diginet+138e
    962ef38e 6a10            push    10h
    
    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX:  4
    
    SYMBOL_NAME:  diginet+138e
    
    FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner
    
    [COLOR=Red]IMAGE_NAME:  diginet.sys[/COLOR]
    
    BUCKET_ID:  WRONG_SYMBOLS
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------
    
    
    DCiAdmin likes this.
  8. Mo Reece

    Mo Reece New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    11:16
    My System
    Loading...

    Hey Ken

    The AVID driver has something to do with Pro Tools LE, a digital audio workstation. That software came with my Mbox Mini 2, an interface used to record music. Since I use that hardware and software quite a bit, uninstalling is not really an option, but I'll make sure to check that I have the latest driver installed. The current one was installed a couple of months ago, right after Windows 7 was installed on my computer.

    I downloaded the Windows Genuine thingy just to make sure and after installing it and visiting the website, I got the message the validation was succesful. After, I did the scf /scannow thingy and got the message "Windows Resource Protection did not find any integrity violations".

    Mo
  9. DCiAdmin

    DCiAdmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    274
    Local time:
    04:16
    My System
    Loading...

    Let me see if Zigzag3143 has anything more for you, Mo :)
  10. Mo Reece

    Mo Reece New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    11:16
    My System
    Loading...

    Well, I uninstalled the program that uses the diginet.sys driver, did a search for the file and it appears to have disappeared. Then it went well for a day or two and just now my computer simply went black again.

    Couldn't turn it back on until after I switched off the PSU for 20 or so seconds. This happened when I wasn't even near the computer and no programs were running (except for everything that starts up with Windows, of course).
  11. zigzag3143

    zigzag3143 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Posts:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Local time:
    05:16
    My System
    Loading...

    Can you do a search for that driver. You may have un-installed it but un-installers sometimes leave remnants behind. Search *.diginet. What was the status of the virus scan?

    I noticed you ran a search for it before I am just curious if it has re-appeared. if so it might be a virus


    Ken J
  12. Mo Reece

    Mo Reece New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    11:16
    My System
    Loading...

    Hey Ken

    I use Revo Uninstaller to remove programs, that cleans up most of the stuff left behind. Since the computer restarted again since I removed that specific driver, I now uninstalled the complete Pro Tools suite. No restarts so far, but I'll have to give it a week (or more) to be sure it's fixed.

    Did a search for anything remotely looking like *diginet* and nothing was found. So it all appears to be gone for real. I'll let you know if the restarts come back or not. Hopefully the next time I come back to this forum is to apologize for forgetting to notify you the restarts have not occured anymore :)
  13. Mo Reece

    Mo Reece New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    11:16
    My System
    Loading...

    ... and I cheered too early, because minutes after my last post, the computer rebooted. Back in Windows 7 now and although I had just cleaned up my desktop, the icons were scattered around just like they were before I rearranged them.

    Deleted items remained deleted. For some reason, the audio service is not running now. During the boot sequence, the usb ports still don't work, so I can't skip the boot choice (regular Windows, system repair, etc).

    Since the driver that seemed to cause a problem the first time has been deleted, I guess I'll have to run Driver Verifier again and hope it produces a readable dump.
  14. DCiAdmin

    DCiAdmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    274
    Local time:
    04:16
    My System
    Loading...

    Please keep us posted, Mo...
  15. Mo Reece

    Mo Reece New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    11:16
    My System
    Loading...

    I ran Driver Verifier again, but it didn't crash this time. Used my computer as I always do, some surfing, some video editing, some gaming, etc, but I couldn't get any driver to crash.

    Left the computer running for a couple of days straight, but no BSOD. It did, however, reboot randomly a couple of times. No BSOD or dump about those reboots, as before. So the problem still persists and I assume a faulty driver can be ruled out by now. Not really sure what's left to try...

    And oh yeah, the reboots aren't any "Windows needs to restart" reboots :) Event Viewer shows the same kernel error after every unsuspected reboot.
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
External Hardware Computer Randomly Shuts Down Dec 1, 2009
External Hardware Computer randomly restarts/shutsdown.. Dec 24, 2007
External Hardware Computer randomly crashes Nov 14, 2006
External Hardware Poor Headphone Sound Quality Not Related to Computer Apr 24, 2014