Computer freezes at Dell startup screen

Solved
  1. riceteuk

    riceteuk New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    19:30
    My System
    Loading...

    My computer was working fine last night, but when I tried to turn it on this morning it froze at the Dell screen and wouldn't let me go to setup or boot menu.
    Someone please help me...I have an assignment due on Monday and all my work's in the computer...
     
  2. Malnutrition

    Malnutrition Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,888
    Likes Received:
    779
    Local time:
    04:30
    My System
    Loading...

    Welcome to PCHF :)

    Have you ever open your computer and cleaned and reseated all harware?
    IF THIS IS A DESKTOP Unplug the tower open up the side.Get can of compressed air and blow out the machine and reseat the ram modules video card etc,see video Plug it back in and see how it goes.WHILE YOU HAVE THE RAM AND VIDEO CARD OUT BLOW OUT THE SLOTS THAT THEY PLUG INTO.ALSO BLOW OUT THE HEAT SINK.SEE VIDEO



    Can you tell us what kind of computer that you have?

    If you have more than one RAM module installed, try starting computer with one RAM stick at a time.

    NOTE Keep in mind, the manual check listed above is always superior to the software check, listed below. DO NOT proceed with memtest, if you can go with option A

    B. If you have only one RAM stick installed...
    ...run memtest...


    1. Download - Pre-Compiled Bootable ISO (.zip). If you prefer to use the USB version then use this link USB KEY
    2. Unzip downloaded /memtest86+-4.20.iso.zip file.
    3. Inside, you'll find /memtest86+-4.20.iso file.
    4. Download, and install ImgBurn: The Official ImgBurn Website
    5. Insert blank CD into your CD drive.
    6. Open ImgBurn, and click on Write image file to disc
    7. Click on Browse for a file... icon:

    [​IMG]

    8. Locate [b/memtest86+-4.20.iso[/b] file, and click Open button.
    9. Click on ImgBurn green arrow to start burning bootable memtest86 CD:

    [​IMG]

    10. Once the CD is created, boot from it, and memtest will automatically start to run. You may have to change the boot sequence in your BIOS to make it work right.

    To change Boot Sequence in your BIOS
    • Reboot the system and at the first post screen (where it is counting up memory) start tapping the DEL button
      This will enter you into the Bios\Cmos area.
      Find the Advanced area and click Enter
      Look for Boot Sequence or Boot Options and highlight that click Enter
      Now highlight the first drive and follow the directions on the bottom of the screen on how to modify it and change it to CDrom.
      Change the second drive to the C or Main Drive
      Once that is done then click F10 to Save and Exit
      You will prompted to enter Y to verify Save and Exit. Click Y and the system will now reboot with the new settings.


    The running program will look something like this depending on the size and number of ram modules installed:


    [​IMG]

    It's recommended to run 5-6 passes. Each pass contains very same 8 tests.

    This will show the progress of the test. It can take a while. Be patient, or leave it running overnight.

    [​IMG]

    The following image is the test results area:

    [​IMG]

    The most important item here is the “errors” line. If you see ANY errors, even one, most likely, you have bad RAM.
     
  3. riceteuk

    riceteuk New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    19:30
    My System
    Loading...

    I have a Dell desktop with Vista installed, pretty much all I know about my computer...
    I'm trying out option A right now, hope it works. Thanks for the fast reply btw :)
     
  4. Malnutrition

    Malnutrition Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,888
    Likes Received:
    779
    Local time:
    04:30
    My System
    Loading...

    You can use Belarc Advisor to get all info on your coputer do not post the whole belarc log here as it contains sensitive info.Such as product keys.
    http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html

    Edit: That might work if you could even get your computer to turn on sorry about that I had a moment..........
    Is there no name on the case?
     
  5. Malnutrition

    Malnutrition Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,888
    Likes Received:
    779
    Local time:
    04:30
    My System
    Loading...

    Also if you have never opened your computer and cleaned and re-seated I highly suggest you do that. :)
     
  6. riceteuk

    riceteuk New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    19:30
    My System
    Loading...

    the first option worked!! my computer started successfully after I reseated all the hardware. thanks so much for your help~! :D
     
  7. Malnutrition

    Malnutrition Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,888
    Likes Received:
    779
    Local time:
    04:30
    My System
    Loading...

    Are there any more issues with your computer?Running slow?If so we can deal with that as well.If not can I get this marked as solved for you. ?? Also I am really glad to have helped. :)
     
  8. Malnutrition

    Malnutrition Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,888
    Likes Received:
    779
    Local time:
    04:30
    My System
    Loading...

    This is how I feel about getting your computer running again.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. riceteuk

    riceteuk New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    19:30
    My System
    Loading...

    nah my computer is running fine now, feel free to mark it as solved :D