Can't view webcams or broadcast my webcam

  1. reillytj

    reillytj New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    15:32
    My System
    Loading...

    Help. I just bought and installed a Dell XPS 430 with a Logitech 9000 webcam. The cam works fine with Yahoo messenger but when I use Internet Explorer, the camera will not broadcast nor can I view someone else's live webcam. Not sure if this means anything but the 9000 cam does not show in the Scanners tab in the Control Panel.

    I need help diagnosing and resolving this one. Is it an IE issue or something in Vista? How can I tell if Vista is properly recognizing the cam? Help.

    Tim Reilly
  2. Sir Trews

    Sir Trews Well-Known Member Elite Member PCHF $Donator

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Posts:
    2,675
    Likes Received:
    166
    Location:
    PA of the USA! Never Forget!
    Local time:
    15:32
    My System
    Loading...

    Welcome to the Forum Tim!

    I removed the email link you posted to save you some spamming.

    What would help us help you is some information on your system.

    To do this, please,
    Go to the User CP link at top or bottom left of this page. Once in there, click on the Edit Options button, slide down to Thread Display Options. In there, place a tic in the box allowing members to view your system specs then fill in all that you can.
    What this does is place that info right under your name so that each time you post, it is easily available to whomever may be helping you, rather than having to go back to the beginning of a thread to find it. You can click on mine now to see what I mean.

    If you need help, please click on the Smilie computer in my signature and run Belarc. It's a free identifying utility and will give you the information on your system.

    Thanks for your patience :)
  3. Arctos

    Arctos You may call me Arctos. Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    13,925
    Likes Received:
    3,965
    Location:
    24°52'28.39"S 152°20'20.82"E
    Local time:
    05:32
    My System
    Loading...

    The web cam works correctly with Yahoo Messenger because it's connecting with the correct port.

    You will only see other people if they have the software options such as Yahoo, Skype and other messaging applications.

    Your webcam will not stream from someone else, you have to be connected to the broadcast stream ip address with IE or any other browser.

    You will need to set up the port / ports that you will want to stream through. A lot of ISP's block these ports from their end so you cannot use them as well...
    Sir Trews likes this.
  4. reillytj

    reillytj New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    15:32
    My System
    Loading...

    I have posted system information (thanks for the suggestion). I need more help on setting up the ports for IE but I will say that the cam works fine in Mozilla Firefox. Seems like an IE issue.
  5. Jelly Bean

    Jelly Bean Local PC Noobie.... Elite Member PCHF $Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Posts:
    12,994
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    Tycroes,Camarthenshire.
    Local time:
    20:32
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello,

    Do you consider your thread Answered/Fixed/Resolved?

    Or if you require further help please post back.

    JB.
  6. reillytj

    reillytj New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local time:
    15:32
    My System
    Loading...

    JB,

    No, this is not resolved. Arctos had suggestion but I need more information on identifying ports, setting them up for access, etc. to see if this will help. Just strange that I have no problems with Mozilla Firefox.

    Tim
  7. Jelly Bean

    Jelly Bean Local PC Noobie.... Elite Member PCHF $Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Posts:
    12,994
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    Tycroes,Camarthenshire.
    Local time:
    20:32
    My System
    Loading...

    Hello there let me just pass this to the Tech Team for you and see what they can come up with.

    JB.
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
Windows 7 and Vista Can't shrink partition, files at the end of it Saturday at 09:51
Windows 7 and Vista Can't download (HTTP1.1/403 Forbidden) Apr 15, 2014
Windows 7 and Vista Can't boot or restore- black screen + cursor Apr 13, 2014
Windows 7 and Vista Can't boot from disc Apr 7, 2014