Can I use 2 firewalls at the same time?

Solved
  1. musicv22

    musicv22 New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Posts:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local time:
    13:01
    My System
    Loading...

    Alright. First off, I am using Comodo antivirus thats is free to the public.(which in my opinion, by far, better than avast, avg, Microsoft security essentials, nod eset 32, a lot of other antivirus programs out there. :) So I was wondering, Is there a way I can use only the firewall of any antivirus program? For example, the best firewall I've heard, and seen good reviews about is zone alarm. However, it is seen as a resource hog. I am currently using Malwarebytes pro with comodo. But Would it be a problem having 2 different firewalls running at the same time? Thanks

    And as previously mentioned above, I would Highly recommend, trying out Comodo antivirus.
     
  2. musicv22

    musicv22 New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Posts:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local time:
    13:01
    My System
    Loading...

    I also forgot to mention. For anyone who is familiar with comodo. I have so many outbound connections. Can someone give me some tips on how to control/minimize that?
     
  3. RandyL

    RandyL New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    3
    Local time:
    07:01
    My System
    Loading...

    Hi musicv22. Running two firewalls is never a good idea. They have a good chance of conflicting.
     
  4. musicv22

    musicv22 New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Posts:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local time:
    13:01
    My System
    Loading...

    Well, are there any good software out there that comes with multiple firewalls, instead of just one?
     
  5. RandyL

    RandyL New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Posts:
    42
    Likes Received:
    3
    Local time:
    07:01
    My System
    Loading...

    One firewall is all you need. They all perform the same functions in the same manner. In fact some vendors firewalls won't even allow you to install theirs if it detects one already on your system. Not even if you have your current one disabled. It actually has to be uninstalled. Most will also automatically disable the Windows firewall when you install one.

    The reason is that one will conflict with the other and all sorts of problems can happen. So why cause conflicts when there is absolutely no reason to do so.

    The same goes for running two different antivirus programs in real time protection mode. Not only can that cause conflicts but it might even be worse protection then running just one.

    So no, I have never heard of any firewall that purports to be run in conjunction with another one. It's a really bad idea.
     
  6. davesam

    davesam New Member Gold Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Posts:
    315
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local time:
    17:31
    My System
    Loading...

    Running two firewalls or two antivirus will crash ....Its always better to use one.
     
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
Network Help Firewalls Detection Software?? May 5, 2010
Network Help firewalls Apr 10, 2007
Network Help Firewalls and Routers. Apr 3, 2007
Network Help Are these firewalls any good? (For 10$) Jul 10, 2006