BSOD on Clean Install

  1. gcq4nb

    gcq4nb New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    Local time:
    06:10
    My System
    Loading...

    I've had several BSOD since a clean install of my Windows 7 (64 bit). Did a clean install of all my drivers, updated my bios etc. Performed a hardware test using Burnintest with no errors.

    BSOD usually occur when playing games such as Guild Wars 2, DOTA 2, and Minecraft.

    Motherboard: Asus M3N78 Pro
    CPU: AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core 2.6 GHZ
    Memory: 8GB DDR2
    Video Card: Nvidia 9800 GTX

    Included the dump files and such. Please let me know if you need anymore information.

    Attached Files:

  2. Kedar

    Kedar Moderator Staff Member Moderator Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    9,440
    Likes Received:
    818
    Location:
    India
    Local time:
    16:40
    My System
    Loading...

    Let's run a few tests:

    Run checkdisk.

    Click on start -> Type in cmd.exe -> Hold down ctrl + shift and hit enter.
    Click on 'Yes' at the prompt


    Type in

    ======================================

    Let's run a system files check.

    Click on start -> Type in cmd.exe -> Hold down ctrl + shift and hit enter.

    Type in

    (Notice there is a space after the forward slash and SCANNOW is all caps)

    Let it verify and repair any files that it finds.
    ======================================

    Please download the latest version of CPU-Z from here:

    http://www.filehippo.com/download_cpuz/

    Open up CPU-Z. Click on the 'About' tab. Under tools section, click on 'Save Report (.TXT)'.

    This will save a text file on your machine. Upload the text file in your next post.
    ======================================

    Download the latest version of GPU-Z from here:
    http://www.filehippo.com/download_gpuz/

    Open up GPU-Z. In the sensors tab, you will see a lot of sensor values.

    Play some graphically intensive game for a while and then go back to GPU-Z.

    Click on the drop-down arrow next to 'GPU Temperature' and select 'Show Highest Reading'. Click on the small camera button on the top right. Click on 'Upload to Free Image Hosting'. Copy the BB code and paste it in your next post.

    And finally, memtest: http://www.pchelpforum.com/memory/113776-memtest86-how.html

    Let me know the results of all those tests and attach the report of CPU-Z
  3. gcq4nb

    gcq4nb New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    Local time:
    06:10
    My System
    Loading...

    Here is everything you asked for. I ran memtest earlier. It comes up with several errors on Test 3, Test 4, and Test 6. When I run it in probe mode it gives me 18 errors almost immediately. Chkdisk and SCANNOW came with no errors. Here are the logs you wanted.

    http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/12/05/12/5d7.png

    Attached Files:

  4. gcq4nb

    gcq4nb New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    Local time:
    06:10
    My System
    Loading...

    P.S if you need more details on the memtest errors here is what I wrote down for now:

    Test: 6 Pass: 0 Memory Address: 000455bf744-1109.7 MB (this comes up in the first pass while running standard mode)

    In Probe Mode: (In Pass 0)

    Errors in Test 1 & 2
    Failing Addresses:
    000afef3080 - 2814.9MB (Test 1)
    000afef4080 - 2814.9MB (Test 1)
    000afef3080 - 2814.9 MB (Test 2)
    000afef4080 (Test 2)
    000afef4080 Test 2
    000afef3080 Test 2

    All the bits are wrong in each error.
  5. Kedar

    Kedar Moderator Staff Member Moderator Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    9,440
    Likes Received:
    818
    Location:
    India
    Local time:
    16:40
    My System
    Loading...

    You have bad RAM then. Run Memtest with each stick of RAM and find out which is faulty, then replace it.
  6. gcq4nb

    gcq4nb New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    Local time:
    06:10
    My System
    Loading...

    Alright ran memtest all night. I determined that one stick was bad by testing one by one in the same dimm using the std bios mode. Then I tested the three that passed in the regular bios mode to make sure I didn't get any errors. Ran it for 6 full cycles with no errors on bios std mode. When I run each of the "good" sticks on probe mode individually (it doesn't matter which dimm) I get the same errors with the same address. Does this mean all of my ram is bad?
  7. Kedar

    Kedar Moderator Staff Member Moderator Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    9,440
    Likes Received:
    818
    Location:
    India
    Local time:
    16:40
    My System
    Loading...

    What do you mean by Probe Mode? If you can use the good sticks without any BSODs, then its fine.
  8. gcq4nb

    gcq4nb New Member Bronze Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    Local time:
    06:10
    My System
    Loading...

    I am not sure it was one of the options you can choose to scan in for Memtest. It is my first time using the tool so I am a bit unfamiliar with it. Just had another bluescreen after I took out the bad ram stick. Here are the dumps and such again. It occured while playing Minecraft.

    Attached Files:

Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
Win 7/Vista BSOD Clean Install leads to various BSODs at random times Jun 27, 2012
Win 7/Vista BSOD BSODs still persist after a clean OS install Jun 19, 2012
Win 7/Vista BSOD BSOD even after clean install May 22, 2012
Win 7/Vista BSOD BSOD even after clean Vista 32 reinstall Oct 4, 2011