Recommended Driver Scanner

Member Panel


Sponsors and Ads

Noticeboard

PC Forum PC Help Forum » Security & Safety » [Fixed] Hijackthis! Logs » [Resolved] Logs/Need help--may be fixable by just glancing.

[Fixed] Hijackthis! Logs - [Resolved] Logs/Need help--may be fixable by just glancing. posted in the Security & Safety forums; I've no idea how to tell whether or not it was a virus, or if it was if I was infected. I was on a forum and there was a ...

JOIN US NOW to remove these Ads

Post New Thread  Reply
  #1  
Old 04-18-2006
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
alexianx - See this Members User comments on their Profile page
Default [Resolved] Logs/Need help--may be fixable by just glancing.

I've no idea how to tell whether or not it was a virus, or if it was if I was infected. I was on a forum and there was a spammer posting a link leading to something called onlybest.org. I got paranoid and googled the address after clicking it (it lead to a search engine with loads of adds--mostly porn), and it came up on a bunch of sites on lists of 'CWS baddies', whatever those are....

I've run Ad-aware SE Personal, and this is the post-scan Hijack log. Has anything infected me?
Attached Files
File Type: log hijackthis.log (10.5 KB, 3 views)


  #2  
Old 04-18-2006
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
alexianx - See this Members User comments on their Profile page
Default

According to www.hijackthis.de, the only infection I have is from Wild Tangent--probably because of a game of theirs I downloaded once....

This file doesn't seem to be from Wild Tangent, though.

Any experts on this have any idea what it may be?

O3 - Toolbar: &hp toolkit - {B2847E28-5D7D-4DEB-8B67-05D28BCF79F5} - C:\HP\EXPLOREBAR\HPTOOLKT.DLL
Nasty Entries found in this registry zone are potentially nasty. This application ([B2847E28-5D7D-4DEB-8B67-05D28BCF79F5] - Result: B2847E28-5D7D-4DEB-8B67-05D28BCF79F5) has been checked. Hit rate: 100,00%
Must be fixed!


  #3  
Old 04-18-2006
Hengis's Avatar
PCHF Head Honcho
My PC
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Southern England
Posts: 11,459
PC Experience: Always learning
Hengis - See this Members User comments on their Profile page Hengis - See this Members User comments on their Profile page Hengis - See this Members User comments on their Profile page Hengis - See this Members User comments on their Profile page Hengis - See this Members User comments on their Profile page Hengis - See this Members User comments on their Profile page Hengis - See this Members User comments on their Profile page Hengis - See this Members User comments on their Profile page Hengis - See this Members User comments on their Profile page Hengis - See this Members User comments on their Profile page Hengis - See this Members User comments on their Profile page
Send a message via Skype™ to Hengis
Default

Hi and welcome to PC Help Forum.

I am sure that a member of our PC Security Team will look at your log as soon as possible.


__________________

Pre-Work
/ System File Checker / Help promote PCHF! / What's inside your PC? / Did we help you? If we did, please consider A Donation
  #4  
Old 04-18-2006
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
alexianx - See this Members User comments on their Profile page
Default

I hope I just clicked some form of random advertisement link posted on the forums instead of actually getting a virus. ~.~


  #5  
Old 04-18-2006
joe5's Avatar
Elite Member
My PC
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 9,036
joe5 - See this Members User comments on their Profile page joe5 - See this Members User comments on their Profile page joe5 - See this Members User comments on their Profile page joe5 - See this Members User comments on their Profile page joe5 - See this Members User comments on their Profile page joe5 - See this Members User comments on their Profile page joe5 - See this Members User comments on their Profile page
Default

Hya Alexianx.

Youre log is indeed clean exept for the Wildtangent , that can be uninstalled trough add/remove programs.

Looks like youre pc is good protected , you have an firewall , AV , malware protection , and windows seems to be updated. So i doubt that that site could infect youre pc.

Also dont worry about the HPTOOLKT.DLL entry , thats from Hewlett Packard.

But i would disable the windows messenger service:


Please download Shoot The Messenger

Download and run the small (22 kbyte) "ShootTheMessenger.exe" utility. It will display the current status of your system's Messenger Service. The button near the bottom of its window will allow you to set the service to whichever state — running or disabled — that you desire.

If, for any reason, you should ever choose to re-enable the Windows Messenger Service, simply re-run ShootTheMessenger to do so.

And i see you have two AV's running at the same time , that can cause conflict and performence problems. I would disable or uninstall one of them.


__________________
- PCHF Team. - (NL) - Mal-ware Eradicator! -

  #6  
Old 04-19-2006
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
alexianx - See this Members User comments on their Profile page
Default

Thanks for the help! So I don't have a virus? Or if the link was a virus, it didn't manage to infect me?


  #7  
Old 04-19-2006
joe5's Avatar
Elite Member
My PC
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 9,036
joe5 - See this Members User comments on their Profile page joe5 - See this Members User comments on their Profile page joe5 - See this Members User comments on their Profile page joe5 - See this Members User comments on their Profile page joe5 - See this Members User comments on their Profile page joe5 - See this Members User comments on their Profile page joe5 - See this Members User comments on their Profile page
Default

No prob ofcourse.

And i doubt that youre pc was infected , youre updated and good protected it seems. You wont be easely the victom of a "drive by download" on an malicious website. But you never know 100% sure though , if you want you could try some other scans to make sure , like an Ewido malware scan:

http://www.pchelpforum.com/118557-post2.html

Or an Panda online AV scan here:

http://www.pandasoftware.com/products/activescan

And if they find anything then please post the log(s) from it for me to look at.


__________________
- PCHF Team. - (NL) - Mal-ware Eradicator! -


Reply
Satellite TV on your PC - over 3000 Channels! Click Here!

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC7
All Graphics & Content Copyright © 2004-2008 - PC Help Forum.com


Back to Top