I would just like to let everyone know that there is a company that is sending out emails . The company is dotblu.com . Here is what they do.
First someone you know gose to this website by mistake and enter there email address to start an account. Then this company without tell you makes a copy of all the email address in you address book . Then they start sending out emails one by one to all your friends.
Now most would not open it but if you see your friends name and address none of us think about it and open it.
I got one from a freind but I have a habit of looking at the header of all my emails. This is where I found there name and address But I also noticed the reply address was my friends name and noreply@dotblu.com .
Now this made me wonder so I looked in to it .
The next day at work I asked my friend about it that is when I found out that this company is doing this. Here is how they do it .
1 As I said above someone ends up on there site by mistake and then makes an account with them.
2. They in turn make a copy of your address book without telling you.
3. Then they start sending out emails to all your friends that say something like this You Have A Privet Message From (your friends name@there address.
4You open the email and are taken to a box that tells you to insert you email address to see the message. When you do this they copy your address book. Remember they do not tell you they will be doing this.
And then they start all over again.
Now I am wondering if they can copy that book without telling what else can they copy.
I just fell that everyone should know so you don't need to explain to your friends how they are getting this message.
The only way I have come up with stoping it is by reporting it to there ISP . If a large number of people complain is place will be removed from the Internet. I HOPE.
![]() |
|
|||||||
| Email & Spam Issues - Watch out for this type of email posted in the Web & Networking forums; I would just like to let everyone know that there is a company that is sending out emails . The company is dotblu.com . Here is what they do. First ... |
|
|
|
#1 |
|
PCHF VIP
![]() Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA.
Posts: 175 PC Experience: always beginning
|
|
|
|
|
| Advertisement - Register to Remove | |
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Protector of the Cookies
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Watford, England
Posts: 1,244 PC Experience: Keen to Learn
|
Thanks for the heads up pirky!
__________________
Doctor: I'm afraid you have Hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia. Patient: AHHHHHHHHHHHHH! |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Moderator
![]() Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Plymouth.England
Posts: 1,861 PC Experience: to learn a little, I messed up a lot
|
I'll keep an eye for that one too,
Thanks pirky |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Stoooooopid Girl.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Swansea
Posts: 12,727 PC Experience: None.
|
Thankyou Pirky.
That is great information for our members and staff. We should ALL be aware of this type of issues with spam emails trying to hack and steal our personal information. JB.
__________________
Rwy'n ceisio fy ngorau. |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
PCHF VIP
![]() Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA.
Posts: 175 PC Experience: always beginning
|
Update just got another one from this place and now as soon as you click on to it they try to get your address book. Good thing my Security dose not allow it. But then they must be running something that keeps you on the email for when I tried to click it off my pc stop working .
So I pulled the phone line and ran a check on the system and there it is malware. So all I can say is STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE . |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Stoooooopid Girl.
![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Swansea
Posts: 12,727 PC Experience: None.
|
Can you try and block the URL in tools/internet options?
__________________
Rwy'n ceisio fy ngorau. |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
PCHF VIP
![]() Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PA.
Posts: 175 PC Experience: always beginning
|
I have it set up to block domain names . Thanks forgot about doing that.
I had a problem with another company sometime ago and by blocking the domain name anyone who trys to send anything from the list of IPS's the domain covers is blocked. And that list can be very large. I am beginnig to think you have to think like then to fight them. |
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Tags |
| email, information, Information:, type, typy, watch |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|





























Linear Mode

